Wheelers Books
Eliza and Her Monsters
 

Eliza and Her Monsters (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Zappia, Francesca

  • RRP: $25.00
  • $20.00
  • Save $5.00
  • Internationally sourced

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of a wildly popular web comic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life off line, everything she's worked for begins to crumble. A love letter to fandom, friendship, and the stories that shape us. --Marieke Nijka... read full description below.

ISBN 9780062290144
Barcode 9780062290144
Published 20 May 2019 by HarperCollins Publishers
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (5 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780062290144
ISBN-10 0062290142
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint Greenwillow Books
Publication Date 20 May 2019
International Publication Date 7 May 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Zappia, Francesca
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Personal Awareness & Social Issues
Teenage Romance
Self-Awareness & Self-Esteem
Number of Pages 432
Dimensions Width: 135mm
Height: 203mm
Spine: 30mm
Weight 434g
Interest Age 14+ years
Reading Age 14+ years
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code 950025

Description of this Book

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she's worked for begins to crumble. Scott Westerfeld's Afterworlds meets Nimona in this novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. Features illustrations by the author throughout. Perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, this is the second novel by the acclaimed author of Made You Up. In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza's persona is popular. Eliza can't imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza's secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she's built--her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity--begins to fall apart. With pages from Eliza's webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza's online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson's Nimona and Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review We've seen variants on this premise before, but Zappia uses it to focus on introversion and isolations, panic disorders, suicidal ideation, and a preferable online existence that offers more control...Readers involved in fandoms and those who wish to understand and think about their reach are the audience for this. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Zappia punctuates prose sections with Monstrous Sea artwork and online chats...she pointedly delves into the way fandoms can smother the creators they live. ...a compelling read on the labyrinths of imagination and the simple pleasures of ordinary life. --Shelf Awareness Told in a series of letters, instant messages, comics, and prose, this book focuses on relationships and identity. ...will resonate with teens who write, create art, and love fandom. ...A must-have for all YA collections, especially where geek culture is celebrated. --School Library Journal (starred review) In her sophomore novel, Zappia gracefully examines Eliza's complicated struggle with anxiety, depression...peppered with detailed illustrations from Eliza's webcomic, drawn by Zappia herself. A fervent celebration of online fandom. --Booklist (starred review) Creator of an astonishingly successful webcomic...Eliza finds her voice. A wrenching depiction of depression and anxiety, respectful to fandom, online-only friendship, and the benefits and dangers of internet fame. --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) A love letter to fandom, friendship, and the stories that shape us, Eliza and Her Monsters is absolutely magical. --Marieke Nijkamp, New York Times bestselling author of This Is Where It Ends
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 3 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Francesca Zappia lives in central Indiana. When she is not writing, she's drawing her characters, reading, or playing video games. She is also the author of Made You Up and Eliza Mirk's favorite, The Children of Hypnos, a biweekly serial novel posted on Tumblr and Wattpad. She also blogs about writing at www.francescazappia.com

^ top