Wheelers Books

Truly Devious: A Mystery

Truly Devious: A Mystery
  

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E.

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780062338068
Barcode 9780062338068
Published 1 February 2019 by HarperCollins Publishers
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Johnson, Maureen
Series Truly Devious (part: 1)
Availability Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

  • $21.50 Retail price
  • $17.20 Wheelers price
  • You save $4.30!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780062338068
ISBN-10 0062338064
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date 1 February 2019
International Publication Date 24 January 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Johnson, Maureen
Series Truly Devious (part: 1)
Category Horror & Ghost Stories, Chillers
School Stories
Crime & Mystery
Number of Pages 448
Dimensions Width: 135mm
Height: 203mm
Spine: 26mm
Weight 315g
Interest Age 14+ years
Reading Age 14+ years
Library of Congress Teenage girls, Vermont, Schools, Mystery and detective stories, Kidnapping
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code 813.6
Catalogue Code 939136

Description of this Book

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart. Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. A place, he said, where learning is a game. Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym Truly, Devious. It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history. True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder. The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Jumping between past and present, Johnson's novel is deliciously atmospheric, with a sprawling cast of complex suspects/potential victims, surprising twists, and a dash of romance. As in her Shades of London books, Johnson remains a master at combining jittery tension with sharp, laugh-out-loud observations. -- Publishers Weekly <strong>(starred review)</strong> Johnson deftly twists two mysteries together-Stevie's investigation is interspersed with case files and recollections from the Ellington kidnapping-and the result is a suspenseful, attention-grabbing mystery with no clear solution. The versatile Johnson is no stranger to suspense, and this twisty thriller will leave plenty of readers anxious for more. -- Booklist The story raises more questions than answers, leaving readers hoping Johnson has another entry up her clever sleeves. A classic mystery that would make Dame Agatha proud. -- Kirkus Reviews Stevie Bell is a dyed-in-the-wool true-crime buff...a smart, relatable, self-aware protagonist. Fans of puzzles, boarding school stories, and true crime will tear through this book and love every minute. -- School Library Journal Told in alternating chapters, Johnson's finely tuned plot effectively employs classical mystery tropes while maintaining a thoroughly modern sensibility. Stevie's quirky, ragtag bunch of new friends crosses sexuality and class lines, providing teen readers with a wealth of characters to connect with. -- Horn Book Magazine Remember the first time reading Harry Potter and knowing it was something special? There's that same sense of magic in the introduction of teen Sherlock-in-training Stevie Bell. Parallel mysteries unfold with cleverly written dialogue, page-turning brilliance and a young sleuth just as captivating as Hercule Poirot. -- USA Today (four stars) Johnson quickly sets the game afoot, skillfully introducing a Clue-like set of characters, laying out various motives, and hinting at long held secrets. There's a delicious slow-burn element to the locked-room mystery in Stevie's present, while the chapters on the kidnappings read like a true crime novel. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books An intricately plotted, compulsively readable novel that explores not only fascinating crimes but also the mysteries of anxiety, the creative process, contemporary fame, and so much else. -- John Green, author of <em>The Fault in Our Stars</em> and <em>Turtles All the Way Down</em> Maureen Johnson has a totally original mind, a passionate set of moral convictions, an extraordinary sense of bravery and ridiculousness, and she writes pretty sentences. Read whatever she writes. -- E. Lockhart, author of <em>We Were Liars </em>and <em>Genuine Fraud</em> So much to love in this book! The duling mysteries, present and past. The incredible mansion/school setting. The smart, diverse and quirky characters. This mystery had us fooled at every turn! And the best news? It's the first in a series. -- Justine Magazine Praise for Shades of London: Creepy, tense and wonderful: Don't expect to put this down once it's begun. -- Kirkus Reviews <strong>(starred review)</strong> Praise for 13 Little Blue Envelopes: Readers will find Ginny an excellent traveling companion. This is equal parts poignant, funny and inspiring, with a delicious fairytale ending. -- Publishers Weekly <strong>(starred review)</strong>
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 2 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Maureen Johnson is the bestselling author of several novels, including 13 Little Blue Envelopes, the Truly Devious series, the Suite Scarlett series, and the Shades of London series. She has also written collaborative works such as Let It Snow with John Green and Lauren Myracle and The Bane Chronicles with Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan. Maureen lives in New York and online on Twitter @maureenjohnson or at www.maureenjohnsonbooks.com.

^ top