Wheelers Books

Monday's Not Coming

Monday's Not Coming
 

But Monday's mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday's sister April is even less help.As Claudia digs deeper into her friend's disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday.

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780062422682
Barcode 9780062422682
Published 1 May 2019 by HarperCollins Publishers
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (5 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Jackson, Tiffany D.
Availability Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

  • $25.00 Retail price
  • $20.00 Wheelers price
  • You save $5.00!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780062422682
ISBN-10 0062422685
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date 1 May 2019
International Publication Date 23 April 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Jackson, Tiffany D.
Category Award Winning
Thrillers
Number of Pages 464
Dimensions Width: 135mm
Height: 203mm
Spine: 27mm
Weight 331g
Interest Age Children / Young Adults
Reading Age Children / Young Adults
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code 946833

Description of this Book

From the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly, Tiffany D. Jackson, comes a gripping new novel perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gillian Flynn about the mystery of one teenage girl's disappearance and the traumatic effects of the truth. Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable--more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn't turn up for the first day of school, Claudia's worried. When she doesn't show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn't just leave her to endure tests and bullies alone. Not after last year's rumors and not with her grades on the line. Now Claudia needs her best--and only--friend more than ever. But Monday's mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday's sister April is even less help. As Claudia digs deeper into her friend's disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she's gone?

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

Awards Winner of John Steptoe New Talent Award (New Author) 2019
NZ Review Jackson doesn't hold anything back when it comes to the pain of abuse and the ramifications of turning a blind eye. It's a frank, devastating read filled with real and flawed characters, and it's a story that needs to be read. --Booklist In addition to a gripping plot line, underlying social issues bubble beneath the surface, such as neighborhood gentrification, race, poverty, community, the healing of connection, and the destruction in disconnection. --The Horn Book The gravest, most fundamental challenge in Tiffany D. Jackson's devastating novel is leveled at a society that purports to value children while allowing untold numbers of them, particularly poor children and children of color, to fall through the cracks. --Chicago Tribune Seen through Jackson's dark portrait of the legal system and the failures of parents and social workers, Mary's environments are as grim as the stories that play out in them; readers fascinated by procedural dramas will be thoroughly hooked. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Tiffany Jackson's timely and chilling debut will haunt you for a long time. An extraordinary new voice. --Justine Larbalestier, author of Liar and My Sister Rosa A riveting, gut-wrenching thriller and a stunning debut. --Daniel Jos Older, New York Times bestselling author of Shadowshaper A well-executed, powerful journey into the claustrophobic life of a young girl trying to navigate what little is left after the world has judged her, and what she will do to escape it. --Mindy McGinnis, Edgar Award-winning author of A Madness So Discreet Suspenseful without being emotionally manipulative, compelling without resorting to shock value, this is a tightly spun debut that wrestles with many intense ideas and ends with a knife twist that will send readers racing back to the beginning again. --Booklist (starred review) The characters are complex, the situation unsettling, and the line between right and wrong hopelessly blurred. It's also intensely relevant, addressing race, age, and mental illness within the criminal justice system. Well conceived and executed, this is an absorbing and exceptional first novel. --Publishers Weekly (starred review) Her novel effectively joins Ava DuVernay's documentary 13th and Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow (2010) to become another indictment of the penal system's decimating power beyond its bars and, more subtly and refreshingly, a pro-reproductive-justice novel. Searing and true. --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) PRAISE FOR ALLEGEDLY: With remarkable skill, Jackson offers an unflinching portrayal of the raw social outcomes when youth are entrapped in a vicious cycle of nonparenting and are sent spiraling down the prison-for-profit pipeline. Dark, suspenseful. --School Library Journal (starred review) This thought-provoking thriller examines issues such as abuse, gentrification, and the marginalization of people of color with nuance and sensitivity. The narrative deftly moves back and forth between past and present, building to a devastating conclusion. A spellbinding, profoundly moving choice for YA collections. --School Library Journal (starred review) A mesmerizing, punch-in-the-gut story about the power of friendship and the horrors hiding right in front of us. --Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Chains Jackson effortlessly weaves elements of suspense with issues of race, class, and gender, casting a harsh light on a world that often refuses to notice the disappearances of black and brown girls. The twist at the end is both gaspworthy and heartbreaking. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 2 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Tiffany D. Jackson is the author of Allegedly, Monday's Not Coming, and Let Me Hear a Rhyme. A TV professional by day, novelist by night, she received her bachelor of arts in film from Howard University and her master of arts in media studies from the New School. A Brooklyn native, she is a lover of naps, cookie dough, and beaches, currently residing in the borough she loves, most likely multitasking. You can visit her online at www.writeinbk.com.

^ top