Wheelers Books
Hooper
 

Hooper (Hardback)

By Herbach, Geoff

  • RRP: $38.99
  • $31.19
  • Save $7.80
  • Internationally sourced

From Geoff Herbach, critically acclaimed author of STUPID FAST, comes a YA novel about a teenage Polish immigrant who finds everything he wants after joining an all-star basketball team-home, family, love, and friendship-only to discover how easy it is to lose it all. Perfect for... read full description below.

ISBN 9780062453112
Barcode 9780062453112
Published 19 February 2018 by HarperCollins Publishers
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780062453112
ISBN-10 0062453114
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date 19 February 2018
International Publication Date 20 February 2018
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Herbach, Geoff
Category Sporting Stories
Number of Pages 336
Dimensions Width: 145mm
Height: 215mm
Spine: 28mm
Weight 270g
Interest Age 13+ years
Reading Age 13+ years
Library of Congress Friendship, Bildungsromans, Family life, Orphans, Minnesota
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code 890729

Description of this Book

From Geoff Herbach, critically acclaimed author of STUPID FAST, comes a YA novel about a teenage Polish immigrant who finds everything he wants after joining an all-star basketball team-home, family, love, and friendship-only to discover how easy it is to lose it all. Perfect for fans of Jordan Sonnenblick, Andrew Smith, and Matt de la Pena. From Geoff Herbach, the critically acclaimed author of the Stupid Fast series, comes a compelling new YA novel about basketball, prejudice, privilege, and family, perfect for fans of Jordan Sonnenblick, Andrew Smith, and Matt de la Pena. For Adam Reed, basketball is a passport. Adam's basketball skills have taken him from an orphanage in Poland to a loving adoptive mother in Minnesota. When he's tapped to play on a select AAU team along with some of the best players in the state, it just confirms that basketball is his ticket to the good life: to new friendships, to the girl of his dreams, to a better future. But life is more complicated off the court. When an incident with the police threatens to break apart the bonds Adam's finally formed after a lifetime of struggle, he must make an impossible choice between his new family and the sport that's given him everything.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Funny, gut-wrenching, and spilling over with heart, Hooper is an uplifting breath of joy, and gives us all cause to be hopeful. I loved it! -- Andrew Smith, Michael L. Printz Honor and <em>New York Times </em>Bestselling author of <em>Winger </em>and <em>Grasshopper Jungle</em> Hooper is a slam dunk! A sports novel with incredible action and tons of heart. I challenge you not to fall in love with these terrific, flawed characters, and just try to put this one down once you start. Impossible. -- Bill Konigsberg, Award-Winning Author of <em>Honestly Ben</em>
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 1 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Geoff Herbach is the author of Hooper and the award-winning Stupid Fast series, as well as Fat Boy vs. the Cheerleaders. His books have been given the Cybils Award for Best Young Adult Fiction and the Minnesota Book Award, selected for the Junior Library Guild, and listed among the year's best by the American Library Association, the American Booksellers Association, and many state library associations. In the past, he produced radio comedy shows and toured rock clubs telling weird stories. Geoff teaches creative writing at Minnesota State University, Mankato. He lives in a log cabin with a tall wife. You can find him online at www.geoffherbach.com.

^ top