Wheelers Books

Sisters of the Cross

Sisters of the Cross

The first English translation of this remarkable 1910 novel by Alexei Remizov, Sisters of the Cross is a masterpiece of early modernist fiction. It tell the story of a poor clerk who rebels against the suffering and humiliation afflicting his own life and the women he encounters ... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780231185431
Barcode 9780231185431
Published 15 December 2017 by Columbia University Press
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) Translated by Keys, Roger
Translated by Murphy, Brian
Series Russian Library
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $39.99 Wheelers price
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780231185431
ISBN-10 023118543X
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Columbia University Press
Imprint Columbia University Press
Publication Date 15 December 2017
International Publication Date 19 December 2017
Publication Country United States United States
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) Translated by Keys, Roger
Translated by Murphy, Brian
Series Russian Library
Category General & Literary Fiction
Modern Fiction
Number of Pages 192
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 216mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 891.7344
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

Thirty-year-old Piotr Alekseevich Marakulin lives a contented, if humdrum life as a financial clerk in a Petersburg trading company. He is jolted out of his daily routine when, quite unexpectedly, he is accused of embezzlement and loses his job. This change of status brings him into contact with a number of women--the titular sisters of the cross --whose sufferings will lead him to question the ultimate meaning of the universe. <p/> The first English translation of this remarkable 1910 novel by Alexei Remizov, one of the most influential members of the Russian Symbolist movement, Sisters of the Cross is a masterpiece of early modernist fiction. In the tradition of Gogol's Petersburg Tales and Dostoyevsky's Crime and Punishment, it deploys densely packed psychological prose and fluctuating narrative perspective to tell the story of a poor clerk who rebels against the suffering and humiliation afflicting both his own life and the lives of the remarkable women whom he encounters in the tenement building where he lives in Petersburg. The novel reaches its haunting climax at the beginning of the Whitsuntide festival, when Marakulin thinks he glimpses the coming of salvation both for himself and for the fallen actress Verochka, the unacknowledged love of his life, in one of the most powerfully drawn scenes in Symbolist literature. Remizov is best known as a writer of short stories and fairy tales, but this early novel, masterfully translated by Roger Keys and Brian Murphy, is perhaps his most significant work of sustained artistic prose.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review In Sisters of the Cross, we get an expertly accurate translation of perhaps the only masterpiece of Russian prose before 1917 that remains unknown to Anglophone readers. Keys and Murphy capture Remizov's teeming, intensely human post-Dostoevskian Petersburg, where the sordid, the surreal, and the spiritual are inextricable. -- Gerald Smith, University of Oxford Sisters of the Cross is a tale set in Burkov's boardinghouse-a microcosm of Petersburg and the whole of Russia-filled with minor civil servants, wronged women, and holy wanderers, accident-prone circus artistes set to conquer the heart of Europe, the indifferent rich, and a Moscow merchant, haphazard patron of the protagonist. All this buzzes and sings, expands and contracts in mesmerizing spirals-until the shock of the last line, a scream for help in an empty world. Wisely, Keys and Murphy preserve the authorial intonation, and thereby achieve simplicity and poetic resonance without losing immediate human interest among the echoes of another culture. -- Avril Pyman, University of Durham An English translation of Alexei Remizov's Sisters of the Cross has long been overdue. Roger Keys and Brian Murphy successfully tackle the challenges of Remizov's unique and quirky style, which fuses archaic and folkloric traits with a modernist flair reminiscent of surrealism. -- Adrian Wanner, Pennsylvania State University
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 1 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Alexei Remizov (1877-1957) was a Russian novelist and short-story writer known for his unique style, which blends a popular Russian idiom with the language of old Russian tales and folklore. Roger Keys is the author of The Reluctant Modernist: Andrei Belyi and the Development of Russian Fiction, 1902-1914 (1996) and numerous articles on Russian Symbolism. Brian Murphy is professor emeritus of Russian at the University of Ulster. His publications include works on Mikhail Sholokhov and Mikhail Zoshchenko.

^ top