Wheelers Books
Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World

Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Blake, Ashley Herring

  • RRP: $14.99
  • $11.69
  • Save $3.30
  • In stock

For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, this is a stunning, tender novel about emerging identity as one girl begins to develop feelings for another in the wake of a destructive tornado--now available in paperback!

ISBN 9780316515474
Barcode 9780316515474
Published 7 May 2019 by Little, Brown
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Usually ships 4-6 weeks – This is an indent title (internationally sourced to order from a local supplier).

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780316515474
ISBN-10 0316515477
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
Publisher Little, Brown
Imprint Little, Brown Young Readers
Publication Date 7 May 2019
International Publication Date 26 March 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Blake, Ashley Herring
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Award Winning
Number of Pages 336
Dimensions Width: 130mm
Height: 192mm
Spine: 26mm
Weight 240g
Interest Age 9-11 years
Reading Age 9-11 years
Library of Congress Lesbians, Friendship, Family life, Artists, Tornadoes
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 813.6
Catalogue Code 950192

Price & Availability Options

Source Pub. RRP Forex Disc. Price Frt Landed Cost
United States 26 Mar 19 USD $7.99 0.6047 0% $13.21 14%
Availability: In stock (Allow 6-12 working days)
New Zealand 7 May 19 NZD $14.99 0% $13.03
Availability: Indent order (Allow 4-6 weeks)
incl GST

Our Price Comparison tool calculates the international price allowing for tax and freight costs. The chart compares this to the locally sourced price/availability so you can select your preferred source. Supplier stock qty’s shown where provided, and can be subject to change due to other libraries shopping.
A '-' (dash) indicates stock quantity has not been provided by the supplier.

Description of this Book

In the wake of a destructive tornado, one girl develops feelings for another in this stunning, tender novel about emerging identity, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish. When a tornado rips through town, twelve-year-old Ivy Aberdeen's house is destroyed and her family of five is displaced. Ivy feels invisible and ignored in the aftermath of the storm--and what's worse, her notebook filled with secret drawings of girls holding hands has gone missing. Mysteriously, Ivy's drawings begin to reappear in her locker with notes from someone telling her to open up about her identity. Ivy thinks--and hopes--that this someone might be her classmate, another girl for whom Ivy has begun to develop a crush. Will Ivy find the strength and courage to follow her true feelings? Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World exquisitely enriches the rare category of female middle-grade characters who like girls--and children's literature at large.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

Awards Commended for Stonewall Book Award (Children/Young Adult) 2019
NZ Review A tenderhearted novel that should be in the hands of every reader. --Kat Yeh, author of The Truth About Twinkie Pie and The Way to Bea Blake creates a sensitive portrayal of a preteen who's begun to figure herself out but isn't sure how she meshes with others, and of the bumbling and overstressed, but well-meaning, friends and family around her. --The Horn Book This necessary and emotionally complex addition to the body of middle-grade literature offers readers a positive, complex, and courageous portrayal of burgeoning sexuality and relationships within the world of junior high. --Booklist * This is an emotionally sensitive and elegantly written novel about loss and the first stirrings of love. --Publishers Weekly, starred review * Filling a much-needed gap in middle grade literature, this story addresses not just the topic of a first crush, but also the invisibility frequently felt by middle children...Young readers will find Ivy's challenges very real and will sympathize with her choices, both good and bad. --School Library Journal, starred review * Ivy's story is no mere niche-filler in LGBTQ middle-grade realism--it's a standard-setter. --Kirkus Reviews, starred review There are some books that we never forget. This is one of those books. Impactful, emotional, and important. --Erin Entrada Kelly, Newbery award-winning author of Hello, Universe Blake captures all the exhilaration of a first crush without shying away from Ivy's confusion....The sisters' relationship is one of the great rewards of this novel that includes a large and vivid cast of secondary characters, who give the story its sense of abundant texture. --The New York Times Book Review

^ top

Author's Bio

Ashley Herring Blake lives in Nashville, Tennessee with her husband and two sons. She is the author of the young adult novel Suffer Love. Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World is her debut middle grade novel.

^ top