Wheelers Books

Islands

Islands
 

There was a house on a hill in the city and it was full of us, our family, but then it began to empty. We fell out. We made a mess. We draped ourselves in blame and disappointment and lurched around, bumping into each other. Some of us wailed and shouted; some of us barely made a... read full description below.

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780369302335
Published 5 April 2019 by ReadHowYouWant.com Ltd
Format Paperback, [Dyslexic Edition]
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Frew, Peggy
Availability Indent title (sourced internationally), usually ships 4-6 weeks post release/order

... view full title details below.

  • $54.99 Wheelers price

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780369302335
ISBN-10 0369302338
Stock Available
Status Indent title (sourced internationally), usually ships 4-6 weeks post release/order
Publisher ReadHowYouWant.com Ltd
Imprint ReadHowYouWant.com Ltd
Publication Date 5 April 2019
Publication Country Canada Canada
Format Paperback, [Dyslexic Edition]
Edition [Dyslexic Edition]
Author(s) By Frew, Peggy
Category Modern Fiction
Number of Pages 350
Dimensions Width: 155mm
Height: 240mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

There was a house on a hill in the city and it was full of us, our family, but then it began to empty. We fell out. We made a mess. We draped ourselves in blame and disappointment and lurched around, bumping into each other. Some of us wailed and shouted; some of us barely made a sound. None of us was listening, or paying attention. And in the middle of it all you, very quietly, were gone. Helen and John are too preoccupied with making a mess of their marriage to notice the quiet ways in which their daughters are suffering. Junie grows up brittle and defensive, Anna difficult and rebellious. When fifteen-year-old Anna fails to come home one night, her mother's not too worried; Anna's taken off before but always returned. Helen waits three days to report her disappearance. But this time Anna doesn't come back ... A spellbinding novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Charlotte Wood and Georgia Blain, Islands is a riveting and brilliant portrait of a family in crisis by the breathtakingly talented author of House of Sticks and Hope Farm.'Peggy Frew is an amazing writer...Elegant, tender and very wise.' Chris Womersley, author of Bereft on Hope Farm'Peggy Frew's novel, Hope Farm, tells an original tale, drawing into the body of Australian literary fiction, a world between the cracks. Peggy's voice is contemporary, her observations sharp and sensitive. Hope Farm describes the cycle of loss and damage when there are no boundaries to protect us.' Sofie Laguna, author of The Eye of the Sheep, 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award winner 'Brilliant. Peggy Frew is a superb writer, and this is a remarkably confident debut.' Clare Bowditch on House of Sticks

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

There is no author biography for this title.

^ top