Wheelers Books

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Lessons in Chemistry: A Novel
  

Lessons in Chemistry: A Novel (Hardback)

By Garmus, Bonnie

  • RRP: $61.50
  • $58.31
  • Save $3.19
  • In Stock US

A delight for readers of Where'd You Go, Bernadette and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, this blockbuster debut set in 1960s California features the singular voice of Elizabeth Zott, a scientist whose career takes a detour when she becomes the star of a beloved TV cooking show. Chemist... Elizabeth Zott is not your average woman. In fact, Elizabeth Zott would be the first to point out that there is no such thing as an average woman. But it's the early 1960s and her all-male team at Hastings Research Institute takes a very unscientific view of equality. Except for one: Calvin Evans; the lonely, brilliant, Nobel-prize nominated grudge-holder who falls in love with-of all things-her mind. True chemistry results. But like science, life is unpredictable. Which is why a few years later Elizabeth Zott finds herself not only a single mother, but the reluctant star of America's most beloved cooking show Supper at Six. Elizabeth's unusual approach to cooking ( combine one tablespoon acetic acid with a pinch of sodium chloride ) proves revolutionary. But as her following grows, not everyone is happy. Because as it turns out, Elizabeth Zott isn't just teaching women to cook. She's daring them to change the status quo. Laugh-out-loud funny, shrewdly observant, and studded with a dazzling cast of supporting characters, Lessons in Chemistry is as original and vibrant as its protagonist.
Read more

ISBN 9780385547345
Publisher Random House
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Internationally sourced; ships 10-15 working days

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780385547345
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 10-15 working days
Publisher Random House
Imprint Doubleday & Co Inc.
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
 › 1 other possible formats available
Author(s) By Garmus, Bonnie
Category Fiction
Modern Fiction
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 163mm
Height: 242mm
Spine: 34mm
Dewey Code 813.6
Weight 697g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Sex role, Single mothers, Women scientists, Television cooking shows
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP