Wheelers Books

Wanderers: A Novel

Wanderers: A Novel

A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world's last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival. S... read full description below.

Usually ships 4-6 weeks – This is an indent title (internationally sourced to order from a local supplier).

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780399182105
Barcode 9780399182105
Published 2 July 2019 by Random House
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Wendig, Chuck
Availability Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $50.00 Retail price
  • $37.50 Wheelers price
  • You save $12.50!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780399182105
ISBN-10 0399182101
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
Publisher Random House
Imprint Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers
Publication Date 2 July 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Wendig, Chuck
Category Modern Fiction
Adventure / Thriller
Number of Pages 800
Dimensions Width: 156mm
Height: 235mm
Spine: 40mm
Weight 1,150g
Interest Age Children
Reading Age Children
Library of Congress Fantasy fiction, Science fiction, Sisters, Voyages and travels, Dystopias
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 813.6
Catalogue Code 986185

Description of this Book

A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world's last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival. Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. And she is heading with inexorable determination to a destination that only she knows. But Shana and are sister are not alone. Soon they are joined by a flock of sleepwalkers from across America, on the same mysterious journey. And like Shana, there are other shepherds who follow the flock to protect their friends and family on the long dark road ahead. For on their journey, they will discover an America convulsed with terror and violence, where this apocalyptic epidemic proves less dangerous than the fear of it. As the rest of society collapses all around them--and an ultraviolent militia threatens to exterminate them--the fate of the sleepwalkers depends on unraveling the mystery behind the epidemic. The terrifying secret will either tear the nation apart--or bring the survivors together to remake a shattered world.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Wanderers is wonderful--a suspenseful, twisty, satisfying, surprising, thought-provoking epic of a novel. Chuck Wendig has taken his considerable talents to the next level. Dig in. --Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Run Away Chuck Wendig's latest Wanderers is a magnum opus of both storytelling and prose. Epic in scope, yet told with an intimacy that hooked me from the first page. It reminded me of a technological version of Stephen King's The Stand--but dare I say, this story is even better: a post-apocalyptic horror story that bares the best and worst of humanity in all its rawest forms. Don't miss this tour de force. It left me awed. --James Rollins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Crucible Wanderers is a stunning epic that deftly weaves together a deadly pandemic, ideological violence, and environmental collapse in a way that feels both fantastically mysterious and very frighteningly plausible. Wendig's tale brims with the irresistible dread of The Stand and prose as sharp and heartbreaking as Station Eleven, but what sets this book apart and will keep you riveted until the end is its deeply compelling cast of characters--courageous, terrified, flawed, but most of all, full of hope. Simply put, Wanderers is a masterpiece. --Peng Shepherd, author of The Book of M

^ top

Author's Bio

Chuck Wendig is a novelist, screenwriter, and game designer. He's the author of Blackbirds, Double Dead, Dinocalypse Now, and the Star Wars- Aftermath trilogy, is co-writer of the short film Pandemic, the feature film HiM, and the Emmy-nominated digital narrative Collapsus. He lives in Pennsylvania with his wife, taco terrier, and tiny human.

^ top