Wheelers Books
Spin the Dawn
 

Spin the Dawn (Library Binding)

By Lim, Elizabeth

  • RRP: $72.50
  • $58.00
  • Save $14.50
  • In Stock US

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and unexpectedly falls for the court magician in the process. When Maia Tamarin is presented with an opportunity to change her fortunes, she doe...sn't think twice about dressing as a boy and traveling to the Summer Palace to attain it. She knows she could lose her life if she is discovered, but the risk is worth it to save her family from ruin and achieve her own dream of becoming tailor to the emperor. There's just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job. Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in a series of challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia's task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise. But nothing could prepare her for the final challenge: Maia must sew three magic gowns for the emperor's reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined. . . . Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Ren e Ahdieh.
Read more

ISBN 9780525647003
Released NZ 9 Jul 2019
Publisher Alfred A. Knopf
Format Library Binding
Alternate Format(s) View All (4 other possible title(s) available)
Series The Blood of Stars (part: 1)
Availability
Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780525647003
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Alfred A. Knopf
Imprint Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Released 9 Jul 2019
Publication Country
Format Library Binding
Author(s) By Lim, Elizabeth
Series The Blood of Stars (part: 1)
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Number of Pages 416
Dimensions Width: 142mm
Height: 213mm
Spine: 36mm
Dewey Code FIC
Weight 522g
Interest Age Children / Young Adults
Reading Age Children / Young Adults
Library of Congress Fantasy fiction, Magic, Fantasy, Contests, Secrecy
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile

TOP