Wheelers Books
Slime: How Algae Created Us, Plague Us, and Just Might Save Us
 

Slime: How Algae Created Us, Plague Us, and Just Might Save Us (Hardback)

By Kassinger, Ruth

  • RRP: $55.50
  • $52.72
  • Save $2.78
  • In Stock US

Say algae and most people think of pond scum. What they don't know is that without algae, none of us would exist.

ISBN 9780544432932
Barcode 9780544432932
Published 11 June 2019 by Houghton Mifflin
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780544432932
ISBN-10 0544432932
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Houghton Mifflin
Imprint Houghton Mifflin
Publication Date 11 June 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Kassinger, Ruth
Category Essays, Journals, Letters & Other Prose Works
Organic Chemistry
Biology & Life Sciences
Ecological Science, The Biosphere
Biotechnology
General Cookery
Natural History, Country Life & Pets
Number of Pages 320
Dimensions Width: 157mm
Height: 244mm
Spine: 30mm
Weight 499g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Algae
NBS Text Life Sciences: General
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 579.8
Catalogue Code 994393

Description of this Book

Say algae and most people think of pond scum. What they don't know is that without algae, none of us would exist. There are tens of thousands of algal species, from microscopic diatoms to 200-foot-tall brown kelp, and most have been performing essential services for humanity since our inception. Microalgae created the Earth we know today, with its oxygen-rich atmosphere, abundant oceans, and coral reefs. Crude oil is made of dead algae, and algae are the ancestors of all plants. Today, seaweed produces six billion dollars of goods annually, from the nori in your sushi to emulsifiers in cocoa, beer, paint, toothpaste, and more. In Slime we'll meet the algae innovators working toward a sustainable future: from seaweed farmers in South Korea, to scientists using it to clean the dead zones in our waterways, to the entrepreneurs fighting to bring algae fuel to market. With a multitude of lively, surprising science and history, Ruth Kassinger takes readers on an around-the-world, behind-the-scenes, and into-the-kitchen tour. Whether you thought algae was just the gunk in your fish tank or you eat seaweed with your oatmeal, Slime will delight and amaze with its stories of the good, the bad, and the slimy.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Praise for Slime Slime is a revelation! Algae has the power to cool the planet, replace plastics, fuel vehicles, and feed the world. This visionary book belongs in the hands of every policy maker, business leader, and engaged citizen looking for answers to our most pressing problems. It also happens to be a delightful read in the tradition of Susan Orlean, Mary Roach, and Michael Pollan. Ruth Kassinger turns a reporter's eye to the natural world and finds an epic narrative there, populated by dedicated scientists, intrepid chefs, and starry-eyed visionaries. --Amy Stewart, New York Times-bestselling author of The Drunken Botanist and the Kopp Sisters novels

^ top

Author's Bio

RUTH KASSINGER is the author of Paradise Under Glass and A Garden of Marvels. She has written for the Washington Post, the Chicago Tribune, Health, National Geographic Explorer, and other publications.

^ top