Wheelers Books
The Virtue Of Sin

The Virtue Of Sin (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Schuren, Shannon

  • RRP: $24.00
  • $18.00
  • Save $6.00
  • In Stock At Publisher

A compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free -- perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale. Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert far away from the sins and depravity of the outside world. Within the gates of New Jerusalem, and under the eye o... read full description below.

ISBN 9780593113448
Barcode 9780593113448
Published 2 July 2019 by Random House
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780593113448
ISBN-10 0593113446
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Random House
Imprint Bantam Dell Publishing Group, Div of Random House,
Publication Date 2 July 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Schuren, Shannon
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Number of Pages 384
Dimensions Width: 139mm
Height: 208mm
Spine: 31mm
Weight 432g
Interest Age Children
Reading Age Children
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code 983831

Description of this Book

A compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free -- perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale. Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert far away from the sins and depravity of the outside world. Within the gates of New Jerusalem, and under the eye of its founder and leader, Daniel, Miriam knows she is safe. Cared for. Even if she's forced, as a girl, to quiet her tongue when she has thoughts she wants to share, Miriam knows that New Jerusalem is a far better life than any alternative. So when God calls for a Matrimony, she's thrilled; she knows that Caleb, the boy she loves, will choose her to be his wife and they can finally start their life together. But when the ceremony goes wrong and Miriam winds up with someone else, she can no longer keep quiet. For the first time, Miriam begins to question not only the rules that Daniel has set in place, but also what it is she believes in, and where she truly belongs. Alongside unexpected allies, Miriam fights to learn--and challenge--the truth behind the only way of life she's ever known, even if it means straying from the path of Righteousness. A compelling debut novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Shannon Schuren (shannon.schuren.org) works as a children's librarian at a public library and writes from a cozy she-shed in her backyard. Her short stories have appeared in various journals such as Toasted Cheese Literary Journal, Big Pulp, and Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine. Shannon has never joined a cult, but might be tempted if they serve gluten-free cookies. Shannon lives in Sheboygan Falls, WI, with her husband and three children. Follow her on Twitter @shannonschuren.

^ top