Wheelers Books

Spin the Dawn

Spin the Dawn

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit ... read full description below.

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780593118443
Barcode 9780593118443
Published 16 July 2019 by Random House
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Lim, Elizabeth
Series The Blood of Stars
Availability Title is temporarily out of stock

... view full title details below.

  • $23.00 Retail price
  • $17.25 Wheelers price
  • You save $5.75!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780593118443
ISBN-10 0593118448
Stock Available
Status Title is temporarily out of stock
Publisher Random House
Imprint Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date 16 July 2019
International Publication Date 26 June 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Lim, Elizabeth
Series The Blood of Stars
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Number of Pages 416
Dimensions Width: 139mm
Height: 210mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age Children
Reading Age Children
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 813.6
Catalogue Code 985796

Description of this Book

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she'll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There's just one catch- Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job. Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia's task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise. And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge- to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined. Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renee Ahdieh. Spin the Dawn is pure magic. Romance, artistry, and deep enchantment. -Gregory Maguire, bestselling author of Wicked What an amazing creation! Every time I thought I knew where it was going, I was wrong. This is a white-knuckle read. -Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Tempests and Slaughter Part epic adventure, part fairy tale, and part Project Runway, Spin the Dawn is a thrilling tale as rich as velvet and as exquisite as fine embroidery. -Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 2 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

ELIZABETH LIM grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area, where she was raised on a hearty diet of fairy tales, myths, and songs. Before becoming an author, Elizabeth was a professional film and video game composer, and she still tends to come up with her best book ideas when writing near a piano. An alumna of Harvard College and the Juilliard School, she now lives in New York City with her husband and her daughter.

^ top