Wheelers Books
Tubes: Behind the Scenes at the Internet
 

Tubes: Behind the Scenes at the Internet (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Blum, Andrew

Tubes by Andrew Blum is the first and only book to expose what's really going on behind the scenes at the Internet, and will appeal to fans of The Social Network and Michael Lewis' The Big Short . You write an email. You hit send. It appears ten thousand miles away. How did that ...happen? In April 2011, a seventy-five year old woman deprived Armenia of its internet access when she sliced through a buried cable with her garden spade. That January, Egyptian authorities simply switched off 70 per cent of the country's internet connections in an attempt to quell a revolution. In 2009, a squirrel chewed through a wire in Andrew Blum's backyard, slowing his broadband to a trickle and catapulting him on a quest to find out what this so-called 'internet' actually is. This is the Internet as you've never seen it before. It's not a concept. It's not a culture. It's most certainly not a cloud. It's a bunch of tubes. But what tubes...Hundreds of thousands of miles of fibre-optic cable, criss-crossing the globe, pulsing with trillions of photons of light, linking us via anonymous exchanges in secretive locations with vast data-warehouses where our online selves are stored in banks of spinning hard-drives. In Tubes , Andrew Blum takes us behind the scenes of this hidden world and introduces us to the remarkable clan of insiders and eccentrics who design and run it everyday. He explains where it is, how it got there, what it looks like, how it works - and what happens when it breaks. Compelling and profound. You will never open an e-mail in quite the same way again . (Tom Vanderbilt, author of the New York Times bestseller Traffic ). Andrew Blum is a correspondent at Wired magazine whose work has appeared in numerous publications, including the New Yorker , The New York Times , Business Week and Slate . Blum was a lead media commentator during the internet blackout of the Egyptian revolution, and his latest article on gizmodo.com got 100,000 hits in its first day.
Read more

ISBN 9780670918980
Released NZ 16 Jul 2012
Publisher Penguin
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Out of print

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780670918980
Stock Out of stock
Status Out of print
Publisher Penguin
Imprint Viking
Released 16 Jul 2012
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Blum, Andrew
Category Media Studies
Impact Of Science & Technology On Society
Human Geography
Internet
Number of Pages 304
Dimensions Width: 153mm
Height: 214mm
Spine: 22mm
Dewey Code 302.231
Weight 362g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text Computing: Consumer Books ('Technical Trade')
ONIX Text College/higher education;Professional and scholarly;General/trade

TOP