Wheelers Books

The House of Second Chances

The House of Second Chances

Can a house heal heartache? From coastal Australia to the rugged beauty of Ireland, an enchanting novel of starting over, in the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Monica McInerney

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780733636172
Barcode 9780733636172
Published 12 February 2019 by Hachette
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Campion, Esther
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $34.99 Retail price
  • $26.24 Wheelers price
  • You save $8.75!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780733636172
ISBN-10 0733636179
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Hachette
Imprint Hachette Australia
Publication Date 12 February 2019
International Release Date 1 October 2019
Publication Country Australia Australia
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Campion, Esther
Category Modern Fiction
Australian
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 153mm
Height: 234mm
Weight 300g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 951262

Description of this Book

Can a house heal heartache? From coastal Australia to the rugged beauty of Ireland, an enchanting novel of starting over, in the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Monica McInerney Their grandmother's stone cottage was always a welcome retreat in the childhood summers of Ellen and Aidan O'Shea. After a trip home from Australia, Ellen is keen to bring the neglected property back to its former glory and enlists the help of her dear friend and one of Ireland's top interior designers, Colette Barry. Aidan is already begrudging the work on the house he has avoided for nearly twenty years. The last thing the builder needs is an interior designer who seems to do nothing but complicate his life. With their own personal heartaches to overcome, will Aidan and Colette find the courage to give the house and themselves a second chance? Praise for Esther Campion's debut novel, Leaving Ocean Road: 'Warm, wise and full of humour. Esther Campion is a wonderful new voice in Australian fiction' CATHY KELLY 'Join[s] the captivating Maeve Binchy in the pantheon of popular Irish novelists' Irish Scene 'An intelligent novel. Esther Campion has woven a poignant story about that journey everyone takes to find their own beloved place in the wide wide world' Better Reading

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review A warm, funny, intelligent novel. It's ultimately not about how romantic love can save you, but rather how finding new hope and purpose in family can give you what you need to pull yourself from grief. Esther Campion has woven a poignant story... about that journey everyone takes to find their own beloved place in the wide wide world * Better Reading * A warm, funny, intelligent novel. It's ultimately not about how romantic love can save you, but rather how finding new hope and purpose in family can give you what you need to pull yourself from grief. Esther Campion has woven a poignant story... about that journey everyone takes to find their own beloved place in the wide wide world * Better Reading * This is a delightful tale, oozing with pathos and possibilities - perfect for when you want to forget about your own problems and slip inside Ellen's heart, one that was once terribly broken and is slowly rising from the ashes. A well-written novel with beautiful descriptions from this new Irish author * Starts at Sixty * This is a delightful tale, oozing with pathos and possibilities - perfect for when you want to forget about your own problems and slip inside Ellen's heart, one that was once terribly broken and is slowly rising from the ashes. A well-written novel with beautiful descriptions from this new Irish author * Starts at Sixty * Join[s] the captivating Maeve Binchy in the pantheon of popular Irish novelists * Irish Scene * Join[s] the captivating Maeve Binchy in the pantheon of popular Irish novelists * Irish Scene * Leaving Ocean Road is warm, wise and full of humour. Esther Campion is a wonderful new voice in Australian fiction * CATHY KELLY * Leaving Ocean Road is warm, wise and full of humour. Esther Campion is a wonderful new voice in Australian fiction * CATHY KELLY *

^ top

Author's Bio

Esther Campion is from Cork, Ireland and currently lives in north-west Tasmania. She attended North Presentation Secondary School in Cork and has degrees from University College Cork and the University of Aberdeen, Scotland. Esther and her Orcadian husband have lived together in Ireland, Scotland, Norway and South Australia. They have two grown-up children in Adelaide and the youngest at home in Tassie. Esther loves sharing her life on a small property with an over-indulged chocolate Labrador, a smoochy cat and a couple of ageing mares, all of whom she firmly believes are living proof that dreams really can come true. The House of Second Chances is Esther's second novel, following Leaving Ocean Road.

^ top