Wheelers Books
The Night Diary

The Night Diary (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Hiranandani, Veera

  • RRP: $17.99
  • $13.49
  • Save $4.50
  • In Stock At Publisher

In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal, and hopeful tale of India's partition, and of one girl's journey to find a new home in a divided country It's 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated... into two countries: Pakistan and India. The divide has created much tension between Hindus and Muslims, and hundreds of thousands are killed crossing borders. Half-Muslim, half-Hindu twelve-year-old Nisha doesn't know where she belongs, or what her country is anymore. When Papa decides it's too dangerous to stay in what is now Pakistan, Nisha and her family become refugees and embark first by train but later on foot to reach her new home. The journey is long, difficult, and dangerous, and after losing her mother as a baby, Nisha can't imagine losing her homeland, too. But even if her country has been ripped apart, Nisha still believes in the possibility of putting herself back together. Told through Nisha's letters to her mother, The Night Diary is a heartfelt story of one girl's search for home, for her own identity...and for a hopeful future.
Read more

ISBN 9780735228528
Released NZ 7 May 2019
Publisher Penguin
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (5 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
7 In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780735228528
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Penguin
Imprint Prentice Hall Press
Released 7 May 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Hiranandani, Veera
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Award Winning
Personal Family, Relationship & Social Issues
Number of Pages 276
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 195mm
Spine: 18mm
Dewey Code 813.6
Weight 214g
Interest Age 8-12 years
Reading Age 8-12 years
Library of Congress Historical fiction, Refugees, Muslims, Diaries, India - History - Partition, 1947
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile

TOP