Wheelers Books

The Sleeper: Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off: : A dark and gripping psychological thriller

The Sleeper: Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off: : A dark and gripping psychological thriller

Your best friend disappears on the sleeper train. The perfect murder or something else entirely?

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780755388004
Barcode 9780755388004
Published 10 September 2013 by Headline Publishing Group
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Barr, Emily
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $28.99 Retail price
  • $22.61 Wheelers price
  • You save $6.38!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780755388004
ISBN-10 0755388003
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Imprint Headline Review
Publication Date 10 September 2013
International Publication Date 4 July 2013
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Barr, Emily
Category Adventure / Thriller
Number of Pages 416
Dimensions Width: 133mm
Height: 197mm
Spine: 29mm
Weight 330g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text Crime, Thriller & Adventure
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 418373

Description of this Book

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Rosamund Lupton's SISTER and Sophie Hannah. Iris's world is rocked when her friend Lara disappears while travelling on the sleeper train between Cornwall and London. The police investigation reveals that married Lara, a regular commuter on the night train, was secretly having an affair with another married commuter. Although they have yet to find Lara's body, the police suspect she was killed by her lover and dumped from the train as it sped through the countryside. Iris is unconvinced and starts to delve into what really happened to her friend. She soon discovers that Lara has been running away from a secret past and from someone who wants to do her harm. Iris's search takes her to the Far East where Lara travelled as a young woman. Here, Iris unveils the shocking truth and also finds herself in terrible danger...

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review The Sleeper makes for breathless, compulsive reading, with characters so real you almost feel like you know them well enough to ring them up and ask them what on earth is going on. Emily achieves what other writers cannot - her books are just getting better and better. -- Elizabeth Haynes
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 3 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Emily Barr is the author of BACKPACK, the original backpacking novel, and many other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian. After living in France, Emily and her husband, whom she met backpacking, have settled in Cornwall with their three children. You can learn more about Emily and her novels by visiting her website www.emilybarr.com.

^ top