Wheelers Books

The Sleeper: Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off: : A dark and gripping psychological thriller

The Sleeper: Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off: : A dark and gripping psychological thriller

Your best friend disappears on the sleeper train. The perfect murder or something else entirely?

Sorry, publisher has cancelled publication of this title.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780755388035
Published 23 May 2013 by Headline Publishing Group
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Barr, Emily
Availability Publication Cancelled

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780755388035
ISBN-10 0755388038
Stock Out of stock
Status Publication Cancelled
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Imprint Headline Review
Publication Date 23 May 2013
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Barr, Emily
Category Adventure / Thriller
Number of Pages 416
Dimensions Not specified
Weight Not specified - defaults to 1,000g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text Crime, Thriller & Adventure
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 322899

Description of this Book

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Rosamund Lupton's SISTER and Sophie Hannah. Iris's world is rocked when her friend Lara disappears while travelling on the sleeper train between Cornwall and London. The police investigation reveals that married Lara, a regular commuter on the night train, was secretly having an affair with another married commuter. Although they have yet to find Lara's body, the police suspect she was killed by her lover and dumped from the train as it sped through the countryside. Iris is unconvinced and starts to delve into what really happened to her friend. She soon discovers that Lara has been running away from a secret past and from someone who wants to do her harm. Iris's search takes her to the Far East where Lara travelled as a young woman. Here, Iris unveils the shocking truth and also finds herself in terrible danger...

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Emily Barr is the well-loved and bestselling author of Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and many other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian. After living in France, Emily and her husband, whom she met backpacking, have settled in Cornwall with their three children. You can learn more about Emily and her novels by visiting her website www.emilybarr.com.

^ top