Wheelers Books

Dancing the Charleston

Dancing the Charleston

Set in a huge country estate during the roaring '20s, Jacqueline Wilson's must-have new novel follows the estate dressmaker's 10 year old niece as she navigates extraordinary and extravagant parties, bohemian guests, and all the sights 1920s London has to offer...

Usually ships 4-6 weeks – This is an indent title (internationally sourced to order from a local supplier).

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780857535191
Barcode 9780857535191
Published 7 May 2019 by Random House
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Wilson, Jacqueline
Illustrated by Sharratt, Nick
Availability Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $37.00 Retail price
  • $27.75 Wheelers price
  • You save $9.25!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780857535191
ISBN-10 0857535196
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
Publisher Random House
Imprint Doubleday Children's Books
Publication Date 7 May 2019
International Publication Date 18 April 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Wilson, Jacqueline
Illustrated by Sharratt, Nick
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Historical Fiction
Number of Pages 448
Dimensions Width: 162mm
Height: 222mm
Spine: 40mm
Weight 631g
Interest Age 9-11 years
Reading Age 9-11 years
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 969155

Description of this Book

Ten-year-old Mona and her aunt are a very small family of two. They live in the grounds of splendid Somerset Manor, just outside the village. It's 1925, still a time when people are very much supposed to `know their place.' But Mona and her aunt don't have a place. They certainly don't belong with the aristocrats in the Manor, though Mona's aunt makes gowns for old Lady Somerset. They don't belong with the earthy happy-go-lucky villagers either. When great change comes to Somerset Manor, Mona must navigate extraordinary and extravagant parties, bohemian guests, and all the sights 1920s London has to offer... A fantastic stand-alone historical novel in the tradition of Hetty Feather and Wave Me Goodbye, this rich, entertaining novel will delight fans news and old.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 5 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Jacqueline Wilson wrote her first novel when she was nine years old, and she has been writing ever since. She is now one of Britain's bestselling and most beloved children's authors. She has written over 100 books and is the creator of characters such as Tracy Beaker and Hetty Feather. More than forty million copies of her books have been sold. As well as winning many awards for her books, including the Children's Book of the Year, Jacqueline is a former Children's Laureate, and in 2008 she was appointed a Dame. Jacqueline is also a great reader, and has amassed over 20,000 books, along with her famous collection of silver rings. Find out more about Jacqueline and her books at JacquelineWilson.co.uk

^ top