Wheelers Books
At the Wolf's Table: A Novel
 

At the Wolf's Table: A Novel (Hardback)

By Postorino, Rosella
Translated by Janeczko, Leah

  • RRP: $57.50
  • $46.00
  • Save $11.50
  • In Stock US

For fans of Elena Ferrante and The Reader, the internationally bestselling novel based on the untold true story of the women conscripted to be Hitler's food tasters. They called it the Wolfsschanze, the Wolf's Lair. 'Wolf' was his nickname. As hapless as Little Red Riding Hood, I... had ended up in his belly. A legion of hunters was out looking for him, and to get him in their grips they would gladly slay me as well. Germany, 1943: Twenty-six-year-old Rosa Sauer's parents are gone, and her husband Gregor is far away, fighting on the front lines of WWII. Impoverished and alone, she makes the fateful decision to leave war-torn Berlin to live with her in-laws in the countryside, thinking she'll find refuge there. But one morning, the SS come to tell her she has been conscripted to be one of Hitler's tasters: three times a day, she and nine other women go to his secret headquarters, the Wolf's Lair, to eat his meals before he does. Forced to eat what might kill them, the tasters begin to divide into The Fanatics, those loyal to Hitler, and the women like Rosa who insist they aren't Nazis, even as they risk their lives every day for Hitler's. As secrets and resentments grow, this unlikely sisterhood reaches its own dramatic climax. What's more, one of Rosa's SS guards has become dangerously familiar, and the war is worsening outside. As the months pass, it becomes increasingly clear that Rosa and everyone she knows are on the wrong side of history.
Read more

ISBN 9781250179142
Released NZ 11 Feb 2019
Publisher Flatiron Books
Format Hardback
Availability
Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781250179142
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Flatiron Books
Imprint Flatiron Books
Released 11 Feb 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Postorino, Rosella
Translated by Janeczko, Leah
Category General & Literary Fiction
Modern Fiction
Number of Pages 288
Dimensions Width: 155mm
Height: 236mm
Spine: 18mm
Dewey Code 853.92
Weight Not specified - defaults to 1,000g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress World War, 1939-1945 - Fiction - Germany
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP