Wheelers Books

Nothing Ventured

Nothing Ventured

William Warwick has always wanted to be a detective and decides--much to his father's dismay--to join London's Metropolitan Police Force. Through twists, triumph, and tragedy, this series will show that Warwick is destined to become one of Archer's most enduring legacies. legacie... read full description below.

Available for pre-order internationally. Ships upon its international release date of 3 Sep 2019.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781250200761
Barcode 9781250200761
Release Date 3 September 2019 by St. Martin's Press
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (9 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Archer, Jeffrey
Series William Warwick Novels (part: 1)
Availability Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 3 Sep 2019

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781250200761
ISBN-10 1250200768
Stock Release date is 3 September 2019
Status Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 3 Sep 2019
Publisher St. Martin's Press
Imprint St. Martin's Press
Release Date 3 September 2019
Publication Country
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Archer, Jeffrey
Series William Warwick Novels (part: 1)
Category Not specified
Number of Pages 336
Dimensions Width: 155mm
Height: 235mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 1,000g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code 975557

Description of this Book

#1 NYT bestseller Archer launches a brilliant series - a Clifton Chronicles spinoff - about Detective Warwick. But this is not a detective story, this is a story about the making of a detective. Jeffrey Archer's Clifton Chronicles reinvigorated his already-illustrious career to the highest sales level in a decade, and now Archer launches a brand-new family saga tailor-made for Clifton fans: the life story of William Warwick. William is a new recruit in the London Metropolitan Police Force, and his father is a distinguished judge. Rather than follow in his father's footsteps, the way his sister has, William has always wanted to be a detective. This series debut novel traces William's complicated relationships with his family; the origins of his career; his first mentor, career police officer Fred Yates; his first months on the beat; and his first case as a detective, an investigation into an art theft ring which has continually outsmarted Scotland Yard. It also introduces the series villains, ruthless art collector Miles Faulkner and his defense attorney, Booth Watson. As with the Clifton Chronicles, the Warwick novels tell the story of a man, a family, and an era of our times in the way only Jeffrey Archer can. His legions of fans will be enthralled through each volume, as we follow William's life, through his career, his love life, his family, and the many triumphs and tragedies of each.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review The writing and characterizations are superb, and the book features several plot twists that send the story lines off in surprising new directions. There are a couple of moments, late in the novel, that should make readers' jaws drop.... A splendid novel, featuring one of Archer's most elegantly told stories. - Booklist (starred review) on Heads You Win Archer continues his storytelling magic to create characters of spellbinding substance, and readers can count on his surprising twists and shocking conclusion. Here, just when the end seems too tidy, Archer provides a killer cliffhanger. --Publishers Weekly on Cometh the Hour

^ top

Author's Bio

JEFFREY ARCHER was educated at Oxford University. He served five years as a Member of Parliament in the House of Commons and has served twenty-six years as a Member of the House of Lords. Now published in 97 countries and more than 37 languages, all of his novels and short story collections--including Kane & Abel, Only Time Will Tell and Heads You Win--have been international bestsellers. Jeffrey is married with two sons and three grandchildren, and lives in London, Cambridge and Majorca.

^ top