Wheelers Books
The Robber Bride

The Robber Bride (Hardback, Special edition)

By Atwood, Margaret

  • RRP: $75.00
  • $58.50
  • Save $16.50
  • To Order

Seven special editions of Margaret Atwood's finest novels, celebrating her 70th birthday

ISBN 9781408803585
Published 1 November 2009 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format Hardback, Special edition
Alternate Format(s) View All (9 other possible title(s) available)
Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781408803585
ISBN-10 1408803585
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Imprint Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication Date 1 November 2009
International Publication Date 2 November 2009
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback, Special edition
Edition Special edition
Author(s) By Atwood, Margaret
Category Modern Fiction
Number of Pages 480
Dimensions Width: 156mm
Height: 234mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 1,000g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 813.54
Catalogue Code 1009520

Description of this Book

The story of Zenia ought to begin when Zenia began. It must have been someplace long ago and distance in space, thinks Tony; someplace bruised, and very tangled. A European print, hand-tinted, ochre-coloured, with dusty sunlight and a lot of bushes in it - bushes with thick leaves and ancient twisted roots, behind which, out of sight in the undergrowth and hinted at only by a boot protruding, or a slack hand, something ordinary but horrifying is taking place. Zenia is beautiful, smart and greedy, by turns manipulative and vulnerable, needy and ruthless. She is also dead. Just to make absolutely sure Tony, Roz and Charis are there for the funeral. But five years on, as the three women share a decorous lunch, the unthinkable happens: 'with waves of ill will flowing out of her like cosmic radiation', Zenia is back

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review 'Excitements, wit and insight sizzle across the pages. Atwood's survey of impulses that bedevil life seethes with imagination, inventiveness and intelligence' Peter Kemp, Sunday Times 'Funny, thoughtful, moving Atwood's plotting is masterful, and her humor is razor-edged, sexy, and raucous' Washington Post 'It stirs depths that Cat's Eye did not reach, and grants deeper, stronger powers to women's friendship in distress' Marina Warner 'Atwood has never written better than in this novel of glittering breadth and dark, eerie depths' Sunday Times

^ top

Author's Bio

Margaret Atwood is the author of more than thirty books of fiction, poetry and critical essays. In addition to the classic The Handmaid's Tale, her novels include Cat's Eye, which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize, Alias Grace, which won the Giller Prize in Canada and the Premio Mondello in Italy, The Blind Assassin, winner of the 2000 Booker Prize, and Oryx and Crake, shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2003. Her latest novel, The Year of the Flood, is published by Bloomsbury in September 2009. She was awarded the Prince of Asturias Prize for Literature in 2008. Margaret Atwood lives in Toronto, Canada.

^ top