Wheelers Books

The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match

The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match

Being friends with a super sleuth isn't easy, especially when she's nine years old and four feet tall. But for 11-year-old aspiring writer John Watson, being friends with Shelby Holmes is just the adventure he's looking for. In the few weeks since moving into Harlem with his mum,... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781408871492
Barcode 9781408871492
Published 1 February 2018 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Eulberg, Elizabeth
Illustrated by Robertson, Matt
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $16.99 Retail price
  • $13.25 Wheelers price
  • You save $3.74!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781408871492
ISBN-10 1408871491
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Imprint Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication Date 1 February 2018
International Publication Date 11 January 2018
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Eulberg, Elizabeth
Illustrated by Robertson, Matt
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Number of Pages 256
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Weight 180g
Interest Age 9-11 years
Reading Age 9-11 years
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 813.6
Catalogue Code 885483

Description of this Book

Being friends with a super sleuth isn't easy, especially when she's nine years old and four feet tall. But for 11-year-old aspiring writer John Watson, being friends with Shelby Holmes is just the adventure he's looking for. In the few weeks since moving into Harlem with his mum, Shelby has been training John in the art of observation - a skill that comes in handy on the very first day of school. John's new teacher, Mr Cobb, is acting suspiciously, and Shelby knows this is a mystery worth investigating. Something important has gone missing, but as Shelby and John dig deeper into the mystery of the Cobb caper, they discover that there may be someone unexpected involved. Could Shelby Holmes have finally met her match? Girl power comes to Baker Street in a book that's perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Robin Stevens.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Mystery fans may try to solve the case, but most, like John, will enjoy just hanging out with Shelby to see what happens next * Booklist * A delightful coming-of-age story -- Suzanne Collins, New York Times bestselling author of The Hunger Games on THE LONELY HEARTS CLUB Brisk pacing, likable characters, a few silly Holmes jokes ... and a diverse neighborhood, carefully and realistically described by John, are ingredients for success. A smart, fresh take on an old favorite makes for a terrific series kickoff * Kirkus Reviews * In this series opener, Eulberg (We Can Work It Out) creates a lively present-day update of Sherlock Holmes, one with plenty of winks to the source material. Readers will delight in Shelby's ability to read clues in this well-plotted mystery and sympathize with Watson who, along with the rest of the supporting cast, is generally two steps behind Shelby. * Publishers Weekly * Readers will delight in Shelby's ability to read clues in this well-plotted mystery and sympathize with Watson who, along with the rest of the supporting cast, is generally two steps behind Shelby. * Publisher's Weekly *
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 3 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Elizabeth Eulberg is not a detective (or so she claims). She is, however, the internationally bestselling author of The Lonely Hearts Club, Prom and Prejudice, Take a Bow, Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality, Better Off Friends and We Can Work It Out. Elizabeth lives outside Manhattan, where she spends her free time stalking English bulldogs in her neighbourhood and filling her brain attic with random pop-culture facts. The Great Shelby Holmes is her first middle grade novel. elizabetheulberg.com @ElizEulberg

^ top