Wheelers Books

Treasure of the Golden Skull

Treasure of the Golden Skull

Return to the weird and wonderful world of Maudlin Towers for a second adventure - brilliantly written and illustrated throughout by Chris Priestley in this striking and funny package. Mildew and Sponge don't think much of Maudlin Towers, the blackened, gloom-laden, gargoyle-infe... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781408873106
Barcode 9781408873106
Published 1 December 2018 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Priestley, Chris
Series Maudlin Towers
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $16.99 Retail price
  • $13.25 Wheelers price
  • You save $3.74!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781408873106
ISBN-10 1408873109
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Imprint Bloomsbury Childrens Books
Publication Date 1 December 2018
International Publication Date 4 October 2018
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Priestley, Chris
Series Maudlin Towers
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Adventure Stories
Crime & Mystery
Number of Pages 272
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age 9-11 years
Reading Age 9-11 years
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 938663

Description of this Book

Return to the weird and wonderful world of Maudlin Towers for a second adventure - brilliantly written and illustrated throughout by Chris Priestley in this striking and funny package. Mildew and Sponge don't think much of Maudlin Towers, the blackened, gloom-laden, gargoyle-infested monstrosity that is their school. But when they are told the school might close, our heroes realise that being apart and somewhere else could be even worse! But what starts out as a secret hunt for buried treasure quickly becomes weirder than Mildew and Sponge could ever have imagined. Who is that new boy who can get people to do whatever he wants just by looking them intently in the eye? (A hypnotist!) Why does that strange teacher have tattoos and a beard? (He's really a pirate also looking for the treasure!) Could their heartbroken English teacher hold the key to this riddle of riddles? (Just maybe ...) Most importantly, can Mildew and Sponge save the day - and the school - once more? This hugely funny, deliciously creepy and action-packed series is perfect for 8+ readers who like their mysteries with a twist. Fans of Lemony Snicket and Chris Riddell will love Maudlin Towers.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review The funniest thing I've read all year * Philip Reeve on CURSE OF THE WEREWOLF BOY * Chris Priestley's Maudlin Towers: Curse of the Werewolf Boy is a book after my own heart. It is beautifully paced, brilliantly illustrated with pen-and-ink drawings by the author and very, very funny. I can't wait for the next instalment! * Chris Riddell on CURSE OF THE WEREWOLF BOY *
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 3 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Chris Priestley worked as an illustrator and cartoonist for twenty years before becoming a writer. His books have been nominated for many awards, including the Edgar Awards, the UKLA Children's Book Award and the Carnegie Medal. The award-winning and critically acclaimed Tales of Terror series for Bloomsbury features chilling stories rooted in the tradition of M.R. James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe and is available in many languages. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by, and linked to, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, and The Last of the Spirits tells a story that weaves in and out of Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol. Chris lives in Cambridge with his wife and son. chrispriestleybooks.com

^ top