Wheelers Books

We Come Apart

We Come Apart
 

YA rising stars Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan join forces to break readers' hearts in this contemporary story of star-cross'd lovers. Jess would never have looked twice at Nicu if her friends hadn't left her in the lurch. Nicu is all big eyes and ill-fitting clothes, eager as ... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781408878880
Barcode 9781408878880
Published 1 April 2018 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (6 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Crossan, Sarah
By Conaghan, Brian
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $16.99 Retail price
  • $13.25 Wheelers price
  • You save $3.74!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781408878880
ISBN-10 1408878887
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Imprint Bloomsbury Childrens Books
Publication Date 1 April 2018
International Publication Date 11 January 2018
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Crossan, Sarah
By Conaghan, Brian
Category Teenage Romance
Poetry Texts & Anthologies
Family & Other Relationships: General
Children's and Educational
Number of Pages 336
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Weight 237g
Interest Age 13+ years
Reading Age 13+ years
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 738074

Description of this Book

YA rising stars Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan join forces to break readers' hearts in this contemporary story of star-cross'd lovers. Jess would never have looked twice at Nicu if her friends hadn't left her in the lurch. Nicu is all big eyes and ill-fitting clothes, eager as a puppy, even when they're picking up litter in the park for community service. He's so not her type. Appearances matter to Jess. She's got a lot to hide. Nicu thinks Jess is beautiful. His dad brought Nicu and his mum here for a better life, but now all they talk about is going back home to find Nicu a wife. The last thing Nicu wants is to get married. He wants to get educated, do better, stay here in England. But his dad's fists are the most powerful force in Nicu's life, and in the end, he'll have to do what his dad wants. As Nicu and Jess get closer, their secrets come to the surface like bruises. The only safe place they have is with each other. But they can't be together, forever, and stay safe - can they? An extraordinary, high-impact, high-emotion collaboration between two Carnegie honoured rising stars of YA. Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Malorie Blackman, Rainbow Rowell and John Green. Sarah Crossan received the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal for her astonishing novel One, which also won the YA Book Prize,CBI Book of the Year Award and the CliPPA Poetry Award. Brian Conaghan's powerful debut, When Mr Dog Bites, was shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, Peters Book of the Year and CBI Book of the Year Award.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review This is a strikingly brave, sensitive and unusual book that pack such a powerful emotional punch, I defy anyone not to weep at the end Praise for ONE: Daily Mail Beautifully observed and hilariously uncomfortable Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Guardian One of the most powerful as well as the most unusual novels of the year Praise for ONE: Independent on Sunday Read, think, enjoy and weep, because the novel is quite simply an achingly sad and beautiful story about what makes any of us human Praise for ONE: Telegraph This is a portrayal of young male bonding, complete with all the lively banter of true camaraderies, at its most tender and affectionate Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Irish Times An outstanding debut, packed with energy and a brilliant distinctive voice Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Bookseller Surprising and charming Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Observer
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Sarah Crossan has lived in Dublin, London and New York, and now lives in Hertfordshire. She graduated with a degree in Philosophy and Literature before training as an English and Drama teacher at Cambridge University. She received the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal for her astonishing novel One, which also won the YA Book Prize, CBI Book of the Year Award and the CliPPA Poetry Award. http://www.sarahcrossan.com/ @SarahCrossan Brian Conaghan was born and raised in the Scottish town of Coatbridge but now lives in Dublin. He has a Master of Letters in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow. For many years Brian worked as a teacher and taught in Scotland, Italy and Ireland. His novels include The Boy Who Made it Rain, published in 2011, When Mr Dog Bites which was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal in 2015, attracted both praise and controversy for its honest, moving and humorous depiction of a teenage boy with Tourette's syndrome and The Bombs That Brought Us Together, published in 2016 to critical acclaim.

^ top