Wheelers Books
We Are Blood And Thunder
 

We Are Blood And Thunder (Paperback)

By Lupo, Kesia

  • RRP: $18.99
  • $14.81
  • Save $4.18
  • In Stock At Publisher

A stunning and original YA fantasy from a fantastic new talent. Perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Melinda Salisbury In a sealed-off city, it begins with a hunt. A young woman, Lena, running for her life, convicted of being a mage and sentenced to death. Her only way to surv... read full description below.

ISBN 9781408898055
Barcode 9781408898055
Published 6 May 2019 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Series The Dundoodle Mysteries
Availability
In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781408898055
ISBN-10 1408898055
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Imprint Bloomsbury YA
Publication Date 6 May 2019
International Publication Date 4 April 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Lupo, Kesia
Series The Dundoodle Mysteries
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Horror & Ghost Stories, Chillers
Thrillers
Fantasy & Magical Realism
Fantasy Fiction
Romantic Fiction
Number of Pages 448
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Weight 362g
Interest Age 13+ years
Reading Age 13+ years
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult;General/trade
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 971089

Description of this Book

A stunning and original YA fantasy from a fantastic new talent. Perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Melinda Salisbury In a sealed-off city, it begins with a hunt. A young woman, Lena, running for her life, convicted of being a mage and sentenced to death. Her only way to survive is to trust those she has been brought up to fear - those with magic. On the other side of the locked gates is a masked lady, Constance, determined to find a way back in. She knows only too well how the people of Duke's Forest loathe magic. Years ago she escaped before her powers were discovered. But now she won't hide who she is any longer. A powerful and terrifying storm cloud unites them. It descends over the dukedom and devastates much in its wake. But this is more than a thunderstorm. This is a spell, and the truth behind why it has been cast is more sinister than anyone can imagine ... Only Lena and Constance hold the key to destroying the spell. Though neither of them realise it, they need each other. They are the blood and they have the thunder within.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Deft, dark and daring, Kesia Lupo seamlessly entwines the fates of two young women bound by magic to a dying city * Melinda Salisbury, author of THE SIN EATER'S DAUGHTER and STATE OF SORROW * A stormer of a story! * Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of THE WAY PAST WINTER and THE GIRL OF INK & STARS * A gorgeously written fantasy, with a haunting, intricate world * Mary Watson, author of THE WREN HUNT * Glorious! Dark, enthralling and full of twists. It completely swept me away * Anna Day, author of THE FANDOM * An extraordinary read, it's a deliciously divine page turner that reminded me of the very best of Garth Nix and Joe Abercrombie but is entirely its own incredible and original world ... I genuinely cannot wait to read more from this amazing new voice * Liz Hyder, author of BEARMOUTH * What a cracker! Game of Thrones meets Harry Potter with two super-strong female leads * Ally Sherrick, author of THE BURIED CROWN * Stormingly good, packed with intrigue and dark, dangerous magic * Amy Wilson, author of SNOWGLOBE *
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Kesia Lupo studied history at Oxford University and creative writing at Bath Spa. She lives in Bristol with her husband and works as a children's book editor, writing in the mornings before work. We Are Blood and Thunder is her first novel

^ top