Wheelers Books
The Black Flamingo
 

The Black Flamingo (Hardback)

By Atta, Dean

  • RRP: $29.99
  • $23.69
  • Save $6.30
  • In Stock At Publisher

Fiercely told, this is a bold and timely coming-of-age story about one boy's journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sara Crossan, Poet X and Orangeboy.

ISBN 9781444948585
Barcode 9781444948585
Published 6 August 2019 by Hachette Children's Books
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781444948585
ISBN-10 144494858X
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Hachette Children's Books
Imprint Hodder Children's Books
Publication Date 6 August 2019
International Publication Date 8 August 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Atta, Dean
Category Personal Family, Relationship & Social Issues
Racism, Sexism & Prejudice
Self-Awareness & Self-Esteem
English Literature: Poetry Texts & Anthologies
Poetry Texts & Anthologies
Number of Pages 176
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 185mm
Spine: 32mm
Weight 352g
Interest Age Children / Young Adults
Reading Age Children / Young Adults
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult;General/trade
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code 995440

Description of this Book

Fiercely told, this is a bold and timely coming-of-age story, told in verse about one boy's journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sara Crossan, Poet X and Orangeboy. One boy's journey coming to terms with his identity as a mixed-race gay teen. This is a story about the power of embracing your uniqueness. Sometimes, we need to take charge, to stand up wearing pink feathers - to show ourselves to the world in bold colour. I masquerade in makeup and feathers and I am applauded.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review A bold and joyous hymn to self-discovery and acceptance * The Bookseller * The Black Flamingo is the book I wish I had when I was younger ... joyful, emotional and full of depth. The Black Flamingo becomes an emblem of so much, and I am so excited to read this again -- Travis Alabanza * performance artist and poet * Dean Atta's tender coming of age novel casts a fresh and enriching perspective on what it means to be seen as different at the level of race, culture, identity, heritage and gender ... an important book for young people -- Malika Booker * Poet *
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 3 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Named as one of the most influential LGBT people in the UK by the Independent on Sunday and one of poetry's greatest modern voices by Gay Times, poet Dean Atta's work has appeared on BBC One, BBC Radio 4, BBC World Service and Channel 4, often dealing with themes of gender, identity, race and growing up. Dean regularly performs across the UK and internationally. He is a member of Keats House Poets Forum and Malika's Poetry Kitchen, as well as a Tutor for Arvon and Poetry School. Dean's debut poetry collection was shortlisted for the Polari First Book Prize. His latest book, The Black Flamingo, follows a mixed-race gay teen as he spreads his wings at university as a drag performer; a bold story about embracing your uniqueness and finding your inner strength.

^ top