Wheelers Books

The Love That I Have

The Love That I Have

'WINTER CALLS FOR A GOOD BOOK, AND WE'VE FOUND ONE TO RIVAL THE BOOK THIEF' - The Australian Women's Weekly Margot Baumann has left school to take up her sister's job in the mailroom of a large prison. But this is Germany in 1944, and the prison is Sachsenhausen concentration cam... read full description below.

Pre-order title (not yet released/available) and will ship once released.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781460754641
Barcode 9781460754641
Published 17 June 2019 by HarperCollins Publishers
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (4 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Moloney, James
Availability Available for pre-order, ships once released

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $22.99 Retail price
  • $17.24 Wheelers price
  • You save $5.75!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781460754641
ISBN-10 1460754646
Stock Available
Status Available for pre-order, ships once released
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Publication Date 17 June 2019
Publication Country Australia Australia
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Moloney, James
Category Historical Fiction
Australian
Number of Pages Not specified
Dimensions Width: 130mm
Height: 199mm
Spine: 20mm
Weight 210g
Interest Age 14+ years
Reading Age 14+ years
NBS Text War Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code 977474

Description of this Book

'WINTER CALLS FOR A GOOD BOOK, AND WE'VE FOUND ONE TO RIVAL THE BOOK THIEF' - The Australian Women's Weekly Margot Baumann has left school to take up her sister's job in the mailroom of a large prison. But this is Germany in 1944, and the prison is Sachsenhausen concentration camp near Berlin. Margot is shielded from the camp's brutality as she has no contact with prisoners. But she does handle their mail and, when given a cigarette lighter and told to burn the letters, she is horrified by the callous act she must carry out with her own hands. This is especially painful since her brother was taken prisoner at Stalingrad and her family have had no letters from him. So Margot steals a few letters, intending to send them in secret, only to find herself drawn to their heart-rending words of hope, of despair, and of love. This is how Margot comes to know Dieter Kleinschmidt - through the beauty and the passion of his letters to his girlfriend. And since his girlfriend is also named Margot, it is like reading love letters written for her. From award-winning Australian author James Moloney, comes a fresh and compelling story about love, loss and profound bravery. For fans of The Book Thief, this powerful and heartbreaking story set during WW2 stays with you long after the final page is read. MORE PRAISE FOR THE LOVE THAT I HAVE: 'a beautiful, heartbreaking and affecting read. ... Definitely one for book club, just don't forget the tissues.' - The Australian Women's Weekly 'a heartbreaking, harrowing and deeply hopeful story ... for readers of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas' - Books+Publishing 'A compelling and emotionally charged story of young love and survival, bravery and humanity. The closing months of the Second World War in Germany are seen from a surprising and fresh perspective. I was holding back tears from page 72.' - Shona Martyn, Spectrum Editor, The Sydney Morning Herald 'a profoundly hopeful and humanity-affirming novel, portraying the equalising power that compassion has above all injustice. This is a novel for people who enjoyed The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, All the Light We Cannot See, and more recently, The Tattooist of Auschwitz.' - Better Reading 'This is historical fiction at its best - thoughtfully written, relevant today, throwing new light on well-worn themes of love, loyalty and friendship. It is also a gut-wrenching read that is up there with Anne Frank's diary for immediacy and impact. Recommended.' - CBCA Reading Time

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

There is no author biography for this title.

^ top