Wheelers Books

The Burning

The Burning
 

The compelling YA debut from Laura Bates, founder of The Everyday Sexism Project, bestselling author of Girl Up and leading voice for women's rights

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781471170201
Barcode 9781471170201
Published 1 March 2019 by Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Bates, Laura
Availability Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

  • $25.99 Retail price
  • $20.79 Wheelers price
  • You save $5.20!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781471170201
ISBN-10 1471170209
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
Imprint Simon & Schuster Childrens Books
Publication Date 1 March 2019
International Publication Date 21 February 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Bates, Laura
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Number of Pages 352
Dimensions Width: 130mm
Height: 198mm
Spine: 21mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age 13+ years
Reading Age 13+ years
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 968572

Description of this Book

When Anna Clark arrives in a small fishing village in the middle of the school year her social media profiles are mysteriously empty. It's as if until recently she didn't even exist. But while Anna hopes a new home means a fresh start, she's about to find out that you can't outrun the past forever. As time starts to run out on her secrets, she finds herself irresistibly drawn to the tale of Maggie, a local woman accused of witchcraft centuries earlier, whose story has terrifying parallels to Anna's own... Gripping, page-turning YA that exposes the age-old prejudices that girls are facing today. Perfect for fans of HOLLY BOURNE and LOUISE O'NEILL

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Laura Bates is a feminist writer, published in Time, xoJane.com, The Guardian, The Independent, and regularly asked for comment by VICE, The Atlantic, and others. She is the founder of the Everyday Sexism Project-a crowd-sourced collection of stories from women around the world about their experiences with gender inequality. She was named one of Huffington Post's Most Inspirational Women of 2012 and shortlisted for the 2013 Shorty Award in activism. Girl Up is her second book.

^ top