Wheelers Books

The Book of Dreams

The Book of Dreams

A heartwarming and magical tale about the distance one man will travel for the sake of love, from the internationally bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop Henri Skinner is on his way to meet his teenage son, Sam, for the first time when he is hit by a car after rescuin... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781471182976
Barcode 9781471182976
Published 9 April 2019 by Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, ANZ Only
Alternate Format(s) View All (7 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By George, Nina
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $35.00 Retail price
  • $27.30 Wheelers price
  • You save $7.70!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781471182976
ISBN-10 1471182975
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
Imprint Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publication Date 9 April 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, ANZ Only
Edition ANZ Only
Author(s) By George, Nina
Category Modern Fiction
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 153mm
Height: 234mm
Spine: 28mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code 963076

Description of this Book

A heartwarming and magical tale about the distance one man will travel for the sake of love, from the internationally bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop Henri Skinner is on his way to meet his teenage son, Sam, for the first time when he is hit by a car after rescuing a child from drowning. He is rushed to a nearby hospital where he floats, comatose, between dreams about his childhood and the secrets that have kept him from his son. Sam reads about it in the newspaper - his father is a hero, now in a coma in hospital. After the accident, Sam waits by Henri's bedside every day. Due to a condition called synaesthesia, Sam can sense things the doctors can't - he can see the colours of his father's thoughts and dreams. At the hospital he also meets Eddie Tomlin, a woman forced to confront her love for Henri after all these years, and twelve-year old Madelyn Zeidler, another coma patient and the sole survivor of a traffic accident that killed her family. The Book of Dreams is a beautiful, bittersweet story about what love means: the exquisite stirrings of first love, the love between fathers and sons, friendship and family, life, death - and making peace with the past in order to find a future. Praise for Nina George's novels: 'A life-affirming novel' Sunday Express `If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel . . . Everything happens just as you want it to . . . from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure' oprah.com `George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance' Mail on Sunday `This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie' Red 'An enchanting, uplifting read . . . the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read' Independent

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review `A poignant story about longing, nostalgia, and the pain of missed opportunities' * Kirkus Reviews * `An empathetic and emotionally stunning novel ... this deep dive into some of life's most haunting questions will appeal to fans of Isabel Allende' * Booklist * `Captivating... This exploration of unfinished relationships has a haunting, evocative quality, and is a perfect, conversation-starting selection for book groups' * Publishers Weekly *

^ top

Author's Bio

NINA GEORGE is the author of the bestselling international phenomenon, The Little Paris Bookshop, which has been translated into more than 28 languages, The Little Breton Bistro and numerous other books that have been published around the world. She also works as a journalist and an advocate for writer and women's rights. She lives with her husband in Berlin and Brittany, France.

^ top