Wheelers Books

Hollow Kingdom: It's time to meet the world's most unlikely hero...

Hollow Kingdom: It's time to meet the world's most unlikely hero...

One pet crow fights to save humanity from an apocalypse in this uniquely hilarious, big-hearted and beautiful debut.

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781472268662
Barcode 9781472268662
Published 6 August 2019 by Headline Publishing Group
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Buxton, Kira Jane
Availability Indent title (sourced internationally), usually ships 4-6 weeks post release/order

... view full title details below.

  • $34.99 Retail price
  • $27.29 Wheelers price
  • You save $7.70!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781472268662
ISBN-10 1472268660
Stock Available
Status Indent title (sourced internationally), usually ships 4-6 weeks post release/order
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Imprint Headline Review
Publication Date 6 August 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Buxton, Kira Jane
Category Modern Fiction
Fantasy Fiction
Humour
Number of Pages 320
Dimensions Width: 150mm
Height: 232mm
Spine: 28mm
Weight 400g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress End of the world - Fiction
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code 999415

Description of this Book

A humorous, big-hearted and boundlessly beautiful romp through the apocalypse and the world that comes after, where even a cowardly crow can become a hero. Perfect for fans of Isaac Marion's Warm Bodies. 'A thoroughly enjoyable account of the end of the world as we know it. The Secret Life of Pets meets The Walking Dead.' Karen Joy Fowler, PEN/Faulkner Award-winning author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves 'It's transformative, poignant, and funny as hell. S.T. the irrepressible, cursing crow is my new favourite apocalyptic hero.' Helen Macdonald, New York Times bestselling author of H Is for Hawk S.T. is a domesticated crow. He is a bird of simple pleasures: hanging out with his owner Big Jim, trading insults with Seattle's wild crows (those idiots) and enjoying the finest food humankind has to offer: Cheetos. But when Big Jim's eyeball falls out of his head, S.T. starts to feel like something isn't right. His most tried-and-true remedies - from beak-delivered beer to the slobbering affection of the loyal, but dim-witted, dog Dennis - fail to cure his owner. S.T. is left with no choice but to venture out into a frightening new world, where he discovers that the neighbours are devouring each other, and the local wildlife is abuzz with rumours of dangerous new predators roaming Seattle... Humanity's extinction has arrived, and the only one determined to save it is a foul-mouthed crow. Readers love Hollow Kingdom... '...wildly original and inventive, funny and profane' Laurie Frankel, author of This is How It Always Is 'I love this book so much! I wanted to set it on fire while hugging it.' Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review If you've ever thought that humans were the ones in charge, Kira Jane Buxton's groundbreaking novel will have you thinking otherwise. Full of unforgettable humor, insight and beauty, Hollow Kingdom enriches our human experience by inhabiting the minds (and bellies!) of our non-human animal companions and reminding us that we're not alone here on this earth. * Ruth Ozeki, nationally bestselling author of A Tale for the Time Being * Everything you're hearing about Kira Jane Buxton's Hollow Kingdom--that it's wildly original and inventive, funny and profane--is wonderfully true. But even better, this book is timely, smart, movingly written, and beautifully concluded. * Laurie Frankel, author of This is How It Always Is * I love this book so much! I wanted to set it on fire while hugging it. I wanted to hasten the apocalypse just to see how my own pets fare in a more humane world without humans. Kira Jane Buxton's voice is fresh, like a newly dug grave, but so joyful and honest you'll laugh out loud, and then check to make sure you haven't lost an eyeball. Hollow Kingdom is a wildly original debut and a paean to my favorite city. * Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet * A plucky hero, a boisterous tale, startling prose and eerie events combine for a thoroughly enjoyable account of the end of the world as we know it. The Secret Life of Pets meets The Walking Dead. * Karen Joy Fowler, PEN/Faulkner Award-winning author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves * Hollow Kingdom is a nature book for our own age, an exuberant, glittering, hard-hitting mashup of Dawn of the Dead and The Incredible Journey. It's an adventure lit by strange myths, brand-names, television and smartphone screens, a fable with teeth and claws about animals making new lives amongst the ruins of humanity. It's transformative, poignant, and funny as hell. S.T. the irrepressible, cursing crow is my new favourite apocalyptic hero. * Helen Macdonald, New York Times bestselling author of H Is for Hawk *

^ top

Author's Bio

Kira Jane Buxton's writing has appeared in The New York Times, NewYorker.com, McSweeney's, The Rumpus, Huffington Post, and more. She calls the tropical utopia of Seattle home and spends her time with three cats, a dog, two crows, a charm of hummingbirds, and a husband.

^ top