Wheelers Books
The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Paperback)

By Harris, Nathan

  • RRP: $24.99
  • $20.49
  • Save $4.50
  • In Stock At Supplier

**OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK FOR SUMMER 2021** 'Better than any debut novel has a right to be' Richard Russo An extraordinary debut of life after slavery for readers of WASHINGTON BLACK, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD and DAYS WITHOUT END. In the dying days of the American Civil War, newly... freed brothers Landry and Prentiss find themselves cast into the world without a penny to their names. Forced to hide out in the woods near their former Georgia plantation, they're soon discovered by the land's owner, George Walker, a man still reeling from the loss of his son in the war. When the brothers begin to live and work on George's farm, the tentative bonds of trust and union begin to blossom between the strangers. But this sanctuary survives on a knife's edge, and it isn't long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away . . . Readers have been swept away by The Sweetness of Water: 'Such a powerful, magnificent book; I urge you to read it. The comparisons with Colson Whitehead are justified' ***** 'A staggering debut and a story that stays with you' ***** 'Thought-provoking and moving . . . a gripping and compelling novel that exposes flaws, mixed emotions and imperfect relationships, and yet it holds on with determination and hope. It fully deserves a 5-star rating' ***** 'Outstanding . . . A book that deserves widespread recognition and a wide audience' *****
Read more

ISBN 9781472274410
Released NZ 29 Mar 2022
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
181 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781472274410
Stock Available
Status In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Imprint Tinder Press
Released 29 Mar 2022
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
 › 2 other possible formats available
Author(s) By Harris, Nathan
Category Historical Fiction
American History
Slavery & Emancipation
Number of Pages 416
Dimensions Width: 126mm
Height: 196mm
Spine: 30mm
Dewey Code 813.6
Weight 288g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress African Americans - Fiction - History - 19th century - Georgia, Georgia - Fiction - History - 1775-1865, United States - Fiction - History - Civil War, 1861-1865
NBS Text Historical & Mythological Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP