Wheelers Books

Saltwater

Saltwater

A stunning new voice in British literary fiction, for fans of Rachel Cusk and Olivia Laing.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781473682788
Barcode 9781473682788
Published 28 May 2019 by Hodder & Stoughton General Div
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Andrews, Jessica
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $37.99 Retail price
  • $29.63 Wheelers price
  • You save $8.36!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781473682788
ISBN-10 1473682789
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Hodder & Stoughton General Div
Imprint Sceptre
Publication Date 28 May 2019
International Publication Date 16 May 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Andrews, Jessica
Category Modern Fiction
The Self, Ego, Identity, Personality
Family & Other Relationships: General
Number of Pages 304
Dimensions Width: 153mm
Height: 233mm
Spine: 24mm
Weight 396g
Interest Age 16+ years
Reading Age 16+ years
Library of Congress London England - Fiction, Ireland - Fiction
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade;College/higher education;Professional and scholarly
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 970786

Description of this Book

When Lucy wins a place at university, she thinks London will unlock her future. It is a city alive with pop up bars, cool girls and neon lights illuminating the Thames at night. At least this is what Lucy expects, having grown up seemingly a world away in working-class Sunderland, amid legendary family stories of Irish immigrants and boarding houses, now defunct ice rinks and an engagement ring at a fish market. Yet Lucy's transition to a new life is more overwhelming than she ever expected. As she works long shifts to make ends meet and navigates chaotic parties from East London warehouses to South Kensington mansions, she still feels like an outsider among her fellow students. When things come to a head at her graduation, Lucy takes off for Ireland, seeking solace in her late grandfather's cottage and the wild landscape that surrounds it, wondering if she can piece together who she really is. Lyrical and boundary-breaking, Saltwater explores the complexities of mother-daughter relationships, the challenges of shifting class identity and the way that the strongest feelings of love can be the hardest to define.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review This book is sublime. It dares to be different, to look in a different way. Andrews is not filling anyone's shoes, she is destroying the shoes and building them from scratch. * Daisy Johnson, author of <i>Everything Under</i> *
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 2 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Jessica Andrews writes fiction and poetry. She grew up in Sunderland and has spent time living in Santa Cruz, Paris, Donegal, Barcelona and London. She has been published by the Independent, Somesuch Stories, AnOther, Caught by the River, Shabby Doll House and Papaya Press, among others. She teaches Literature and Creative Writing classes and co-runs literary magazine The Grapevine, which aims to give a platform to under-represented writers. jessica-andrews.com

^ top