Wheelers Books

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking
  

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared America s next great cooking teacher by Alice Waters. In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – Title is in stock with supplier internationally

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781476753836
Barcode 9781476753836
Published 25 April 2017 by Simon & Schuster
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Nosrat, Samin
Illustrated by MacNaughton, Wendy
Availability Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $79.50 Retail price
  • $63.60 Wheelers price
  • You save $15.90!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781476753836
ISBN-10 1476753830
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Simon & Schuster
Imprint Simon & Schuster
Publication Date 25 April 2017
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Nosrat, Samin
Illustrated by MacNaughton, Wendy
Category Reference Works
Cookery / Food & Drink Etc
General Cookery
Cookery By Ingredient
National & Regional Cuisine
Number of Pages 480
Dimensions Width: 196mm
Height: 231mm
Spine: 36mm
Weight 1,270g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Cooking, Cookbooks
NBS Text Food & Drink: General
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 641.5
Catalogue Code 772392

Description of this Book

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared America s next great cooking teacher by Alice Waters. In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time. Echoing Samin s own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes and dozens of variations to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs. Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you ll ever need. With a foreword by Michael Pollan.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review <i>Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat</i> is a very important book not because it contains many excellent recipes, although it does, or because it is written by a Chez Panisse alum, although it is. It is important because it gives home cooks a compass with which to navigate their own kitchens, and it places trust in them that they will be able to use that compass. Samin s easygoing, cook-by-feel approach is never condescending or elitist. It is a step towards cooking without recipes and true empowerment (and joy!) in the kitchen. --John Becker and Megan Scott, 4th generation stewards of the New York Times bestselling Joy of Cooking

^ top

Author's Bio

Samin Nosrat is a writer, teacher, and chef. Called a go-to resource for matching the correct techniques with the best ingredients by The New York Times, and the next Julia Child by NPR's All Things Considered, she's been cooking professionally since 2000, when she first stumbled into the kitchen at Chez Panisse restaurant. She lives, cooks, surfs, and gardens in Berkeley, California. Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is her first book. Wendy MacNaughton is a New York Times bestselling illustrator and graphic journalist whose books include Meanwhile in San Francisco (Chronicle), Pen & Ink (Bloomsbury). The Gutsy Girl (Bloomsbury), and The Essential Scratch and Sniff Guide to Becoming a Wine Expert (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt). Her work appears in publications like The New York Times, Lucky Peach, Bon App tit, AFAR Magazine, and elsewhere. She is the back page columnist for The California Sunday Magazine.

^ top