Wheelers Books

The Brontes: The Fantastically Feminist (and Totally True) Story of the Astonishing Authors

The Brontes: The Fantastically Feminist (and Totally True) Story of the Astonishing Authors

Meet the Bronte family - fantastically feminist, rebelliously radical, incredibly inspiring and astonishing authors!

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781526361066
Barcode 9781526361066
Published 12 March 2019 by Hachette Children's Books
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Doherty, Anna
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $29.99 Retail price
  • $23.69 Wheelers price
  • You save $6.30!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781526361066
ISBN-10 152636106X
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Hachette Children's Books
Imprint Wren & Rook
Publication Date 12 March 2019
International Publication Date 7 March 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Doherty, Anna
Category General Picture Books
Character Books
Writers, Poets & Dramatists
Biography & Autobiography: Literary
Women's Studies
Feminism
Number of Pages 32
Dimensions Width: 227mm
Height: 268mm
Spine: 10mm
Weight 382g
Interest Age 5-8 years
Reading Age 5-8 years
Library of Congress English fiction - Juvenile literature - History and criticism - 19th century
NBS Text Children's General Non-Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile;General/trade;College/higher education;Professional and scholarly
Dewey Code 823.809
Catalogue Code 976489

Description of this Book

An inspiring, empowering, fantastically feminist and totally true story, perfect for fans of Little People, Big Dreams and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls! Meet the incredible Bronte family - Charlotte, Emily, Anne and Bramwell Bronte are no ordinary children. Growing up on the wild, lonely moors of Yorkshire, they have nothing to entertain them but their imaginations and each other. So they invent extraordinary imaginery worlds, full of wars and love stories, soldiers, heroes and villains, ruled over by powerful women. As they grow up, the Brontes discover that the real world isn't such a great place to be a girl. But they are so determined that their voices be heard, they overcome almost unbeatable odds to be bestselling authors. This is the absolutely astonishing, fantastically feminist and, best of all, totally true story of one amazing family!

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Anna is an author and illustrator from sunny Scotland - she loves writing, drawing, Brussels sprouts, things in alphabetical order, and every single dog in the world. Her main skills lie in Scrabble, and swimming a long way underwater without breathing, but she also has an MA in Children's Book Illustration from the Cambridge School of Art.

^ top