Wheelers Books

I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter

I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter
 

In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me, acclaimed novelist David Chariandy's latest is an intimate and profoundly beautiful meditation on the politics of race today When a moment of quietly ignored bigotry prompted his three-year-old daughter to ask `what... read full description below.

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781526602879
Barcode 9781526602879
Published 6 May 2019 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Chariandy, David
Availability Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

  • $26.99 Retail price
  • $21.59 Wheelers price
  • You save $5.40!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781526602879
ISBN-10 1526602873
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Imprint Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication Date 6 May 2019
International Publication Date 14 March 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Chariandy, David
Category Essays, Journals, Letters & Other Prose Works
Number of Pages 96
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Weight 188g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Race - Social aspects, Racism, Fathers and daughters
NBS Text Autobiography: General
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 813.6
Catalogue Code 980032

Description of this Book

In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me, acclaimed novelist David Chariandy's latest is an intimate and profoundly beautiful meditation on the politics of race today When a moment of quietly ignored bigotry prompted his three-year-old daughter to ask `what happened?', David Chariandy began wondering how to discuss with his children the politics of race. Today, in a newly heated era of struggle and divisions, he has completed a letter to his now thirteen-year-old daughter. The son of Black and South Asian migrants from Trinidad, David draws upon his personal and ancestral past, including his experiences growing up as a `visible minority' within the land of his birth, as well as the legacies of slavery, indenture and immigration. In sharing with his daughter his own story of `race', he hopes to cultivate within her a sense of identity that balances the painful truths of the past and present with hopeful possibilities for a better future. With intimacy, sensitivity and beauty, Chariandy shares the questions he is addressing to his daughter - questions of immense importance and resonance for us all.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review A brilliant, powerful elegy from a living brother to a lost one, yet pulsing with rhythm, and beating with life -- Praise for 'Brother', Marlon James, Man Booker Prize-winning author of 'A Brief History of Seven Killings' I love this novel. Riveting, composed, charged with feeling, Brother surrounds us with music and aspiration, fidelity and beauty -- Praise for 'Brother', Madeleine Thien, author of Man Booker Prize-shortlisted novel Do Not Say We Have Nothing Mesmerizing. Poetic. Achingly soulful -- Lawrence Hill, author of 'The Book of Negroes'
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

David Chariandy grew up in Toronto and lives and teaches in Vancouver. He is the author of the novels Soucouyant, which received nominations from eleven literary awards juries, and Brother, which won the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize and the Toronto Book Award, was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and the Aspen Words Literary Prize and nominated for the 2019 Dublin Literary Award.

^ top