Wheelers Books
I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter

I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter (Hardback)

By Chariandy, David

  • RRP: $26.99
  • $21.05
  • Save $5.94
  • In Stock At Publisher

In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me, acclaimed novelist David Chariandy's latest is an intimate and profoundly beautiful meditation on the politics of race today When a moment of quietly ignored bigotry prompted his three-year-old daughter to ask `what... happened?', David Chariandy began wondering how to discuss with his children the politics of race. Today, in a newly heated era of struggle and divisions, he has completed a letter to his now thirteen-year-old daughter. The son of Black and South Asian migrants from Trinidad, David draws upon his personal and ancestral past, including his experiences growing up as a `visible minority' within the land of his birth, as well as the legacies of slavery, indenture and immigration. In sharing with his daughter his own story of `race', he hopes to cultivate within her a sense of identity that balances the painful truths of the past and present with hopeful possibilities for a better future. With intimacy, sensitivity and beauty, Chariandy shares the questions he is addressing to his daughter - questions of immense importance and resonance for us all.
Read more

ISBN 9781526602879
Released NZ 6 May 2019
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
113 In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781526602879
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Imprint Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Released 6 May 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Chariandy, David
Category Essays, Journals, Letters & Other Prose Works
Number of Pages 96
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Dewey Code 813.6
Weight 188g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Race - Social aspects, Racism, Fathers and daughters
NBS Text Autobiography: General
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP