Wheelers Books
The Long Flight Home: a heartbreaking wartime story inspired by true events

The Long Flight Home: a heartbreaking wartime story inspired by true events (Hardback)

By Hlad, A. L.

  • RRP: $60.00
  • $46.80
  • Save $13.20
  • To Order/ Indent titles

A moving, masterfully written story of love and sacrifice, inspired by the fascinating, yet little-known mission using carrier pigeons during WWII. Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Dear Mrs Bird.

ISBN 9781529311440
Barcode 9781529311440
Published 11 July 2019 by Hodder & Stoughton
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Indent title (sourced internationally), usually ships 4-6 weeks post release/order

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781529311440
ISBN-10 1529311446
Stock Available
Status Indent title (sourced internationally), usually ships 4-6 weeks post release/order
Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
Imprint Hodder & Stoughton
Publication Date 11 July 2019
International Publication Date 27 June 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Hlad, A. L.
Category Romantic Fiction
War Fiction
Second World War fiction
True Stories: War / Combat / Elite Forces
World History: Second World War
Military History
Animals & Society
Battles & Campaigns
Farm & Working Animals
Domestic Animals & Pets
Number of Pages 384
Dimensions Width: 162mm
Height: 234mm
Spine: 37mm
Weight 630g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress World War, 1939-1945 - Fiction - England
NBS Text War Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade;College/higher education;Professional and scholarly
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 1006691

Description of this Book

A moving, masterfully written story of love and sacrifice, perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Dear Mrs Bird. Inspired by fascinating, true, yet little-known events during World War II, The Long Flight Home is a testament to the power of courage in our darkest hours. It is September 1940, and as German bombs fall on Britain, fears grow of an impending invasion. Enemy fighter planes blacken the sky around Epping Forest, the home of Susan Shepherd and her grandfather, Bertie. After losing her parents as a child, Susan found comfort in raising homing pigeons. Duchess has proven to be the most extraordinary of all Susan's birds, as the two share a special bond and an unusual curiosity about the world. Thousands of miles away in Buxton, Maine, a young crop-duster pilot named Ollie Evans has decided to travel to Britain to join the Royal Air Force. His quest brings him to the National Pigeon Service, where Susan is involved in a new, covert assignment. The mission aims to air-drop hundreds of homing pigeons in German-occupied France, where many will not survive. As the mission date draws near, the friendship between Ollie and Susan deepens. When Ollie's plane is downed behind enemy lines, both know that the chances of a reunion are very remote. Will Duchess's devotion and sense of duty become an unexpected lifeline, and prove that hope is never truly lost?

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Tense, heartwarming and life affirming, The Long Flight Home gives a fresh slant on heroism in WWII -- Rhys Bowen, <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author of the Royal Spyness novels Based on true events, The Long Flight Home has everything I love in a novel-the sense of discovery, the epic drama of a life-or-death situation, and the soaring sense of hope gained from the depths of despair. It's a gorgeous, impressive first novel by a hugely talented author. -- Susan Wiggs, # 1 <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author

^ top

Author's Bio

Alan Hlad, writing as A.L. Hlad, is a corporate executive turned writer who exhibits meticulous and fascinating research in his historical fiction. Alan is a seasoned conference speaker, and a member of the Historical Novel Society, Literary Cleveland, and the Akron Writers' Group. A runner and hiker, Alan lives in Ohio with his wife and children, along with their Golden Retrievers and the world's most persistent cat.

^ top