Wheelers Books
Madam

Madam (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Wynne, Phoebe

  • RRP: $37.99
  • $30.39
  • Save $7.60
  • In Stock At Publisher

Let the fire burn... For 150 years, above the Scottish cliffs, Caldonbrae Hall has sat as a beacon of excellence in the ancestral castle of Lord William Hope. A boarding school for girls, it promises a future where its pupils will emerge 'resilient and ready to serve society'. Ro...se Christie, a 26-year-old Classics teacher, is the first new hire for the school in over a decade. At first, Rose feels overwhelmed in the face of this elite establishment, but soon after her arrival she begins to understand that she may have more to fear than her own ineptitude. When Rose stumbles across the secret circumstances surrounding the abrupt departure of her predecessor - a woman whose ghost lingers over everything and who no one will discuss - she realises that there is much more to this institution than she has been led to believe. As she uncovers the darkness that beats at the heart of Caldonbrae, Rose becomes embroiled in a battle that will threaten her sanity as well as her safety... A brooding, mesmeric novel with a feminist kick, perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman, Madeleine Miller and Margaret Atwood.
Read more

ISBN 9781529408737
Released NZ 11 May 2021
Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
46 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781529408737
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
Imprint Quercus Publishing
Released 11 May 2021
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
 › 3 other possible formats available
Author(s) By Wynne, Phoebe
Category Modern Fiction
Myths & Mythology
Folklore
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 154mm
Height: 232mm
Spine: 38mm
Dewey Code Not specified
Weight 540g
Interest Age 16+ years
Reading Age 16+ years
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade;Professional and scholarly;General/trade

TOP