Wheelers Books
Madam
  

Madam (Paperback)

By Wynne, Phoebe

  • RRP: $29.50
  • $22.07
  • Save $7.43
  • Pub Date
    3 Mar 22

'Rebecca meets The Secret History. Gloriously dark, gloriously gothic' SARA COLLINS Light a fire they can't put out... For 150 years, above the Scottish cliffs, Caldonbrae Hall has sat as a beacon of excellence in the ancestral castle of Lord William Hope. A boarding school for g...irls, it promises a future where its pupils will emerge 'resilient and ready to serve society'. Rose Christie, a 26-year-old Classics teacher, is the first new hire for the school in over a decade. At first, Rose feels overwhelmed in the face of this elite establishment, but soon after her arrival she begins to understand that she may have more to fear than her own ineptitude. When Rose stumbles across the secret circumstances surrounding the abrupt departure of her predecessor - a woman whose ghost lingers over everything and who no one will discuss - she realises that there is much more to this institution than she has been led to believe. As she uncovers the darkness that beats at the heart of Caldonbrae, Rose becomes embroiled in a battle that will threaten her sanity as well as her safety... A brooding, mesmeric novel with a feminist kick, perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman, Madeline Miller and Margaret Atwood.
Read more

ISBN 9781529408768
Released NZ 3 Mar 2022
Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 3 Mar 2022

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781529408768
Stock Release date is 3 March 2022
Status Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 3 Mar 2022
Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
Imprint Quercus Publishing
Released 3 Mar 2022
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
 › 3 other possible formats available
Author(s) By Wynne, Phoebe
Category Modern Fiction
Myths & Mythology
Folklore
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Dewey Code Not specified
Weight 41g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade;Professional and scholarly;General/trade

TOP