Wheelers Books
Widowland

Widowland (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Carey, C. J.

  • RRP: $34.99
  • $27.99
  • Save $7.00
  • In Stock At Publisher

An alternative history with a strong feminist twist, perfect for fans of Robert Harris' Fatherland, C. J. Sansom's Dominion and the dystopian novels of Margaret Atwood To control the past, they edited history. To control the future, they edited literature. London, 1953, Coronatio...n year - but not the Coronation we thought we knew Thirteen years have passed since a Grand Alliance between Great Britain and Germany was formalized. George VI and his family have been murdered and Edward VIII rules as King. Yet, in practice, all power is vested in Alfred Rosenberg, Britain's Protector. Britain is the perfect petri dish for the ideal society, and the role and status of women is Roseberg's particular interest. Under the Rosenberg regulations women are divided into a number of castes according to age, heritage, reproductive status and physical characteristics. Rose belongs to the elite caste of Gelis. She works at the Ministry of Culture rewriting literature to correct the views of the past. She has been charged with making Jane Eyre more submissive, Elizabeth Bennet less feisty and Dorothea Brooke less intelligent. One morning she is summoned to the Cultural Commissioner's office and given a special task. Outbreaks of insurgency have been seen across the country. Graffiti has been daubed on public buildings. Disturbingly, the graffiti is made up of lines from famous works, subversive lines from the voices of women. Suspicion has fallen on Widowland, the run down slums inhabited by childless women over fifty, the lowest caste. These women are known to be mutinous, for they seem to have lost their fear. Before the Leader arrives for the Coronation ceremony, Rose must infiltrate Widowland and find the source of this rebellion. But as she begins to investigate, she discovers something that could change the protectorate forever, and in the process change herself.
Read more

ISBN 9781529411997
Released NZ 8 Jun 2021
Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
476 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781529411997
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
Imprint Quercus Publishing
Released 8 Jun 2021
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
 › 1 other possible formats available
Author(s) By Carey, C. J.
Category Adventure / Thriller
Historical Adventure Fiction
Feminism
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 152mm
Height: 232mm
Spine: 34mm
Dewey Code 823.92
Weight 560g
Interest Age 16+ years
Reading Age 16+ years
Library of Congress London England - Fiction - History - 1951
NBS Text Crime, Thriller & Adventure
ONIX Text General/trade;College/higher education;Professional and scholarly

TOP