Wheelers Books

A Quiet Kind of Thunder

A Quiet Kind of Thunder
 

A girl who can't speak and a boy who can't hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel from the bestselling author of Fragile Like Us.

Usually ships 2-3 weeks – Title is in stock with supplier internationally

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781534402416
Barcode 9781534402416
Published 9 January 2018 by Simon Pulse
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Barnard, Sara
Availability Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $40.99 Retail price
  • $32.79 Wheelers price
  • You save $8.20!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781534402416
ISBN-10 1534402411
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
Publisher Simon Pulse
Imprint Simon Pulse
Publication Date 9 January 2018
Publication Country
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Barnard, Sara
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Teenage Romance
Disability & Illness
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 211mm
Spine: 36mm
Weight 522g
Interest Age 14+ years
Reading Age 14+ years
Library of Congress People with disabilities, Deaf, Sign language, Selective mutism, Youth with disabilities
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

A girl who can't speak and a boy who can't hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel from bestselling author Sara Barnard. Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson. Steffi doesn't talk, but she has so much to say. Rhys can't hear, but he can listen. Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life. The condition's name has always felt ironic to her, because she certainly does not select not to speak. In fact, she would give anything to be able to speak as easily and often as everyone around her can. She suffers from crippling anxiety, and uncontrollably, in most situations simply can't open her mouth to get out the words. Steffi's been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He's deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she's assigned to help him acclimate. To Rhys, it doesn't matter that Steffi doesn't talk. As they find ways to communicate, Steffi discovers that she does have a voice, and that she's falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it. But as she starts to overcome a lifelong challenge, she'll soon confront questions about the nature of her own identity and the very essence of what it is to know another person.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Sara Barnard lives in Brighton, England, and does all her best writing on trains. She loves books, book people, and book things. She gets her love of words from her dad, who made sure she always had books to read and introduced her to the wonders of secondhand bookshops at a young age. Sara has lived in Canada, worked in India, and once spent a night in an ice hotel. She studied American literature with creative writing at university and never stopped reading YA. Sara is inspired by what-ifs and people. She thinks sad books are good for the soul and happy books lift the heart. She hopes to write lots of books that do both.

^ top