Wheelers Books

A Quiet Kind of Thunder

A Quiet Kind of Thunder
 

Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson. A girl who can't speak and a boy who can't hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel for readers who enjoyed John Green's Turtles All the Way Down (Bookl... read full description below.

Usually ships 2-3 weeks – Title is in stock with supplier internationally

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781534402423
Barcode 9781534402423
Published 29 January 2019 by Simon Pulse
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Reprint ed.
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Barnard, Sara
Availability Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $27.99 Retail price
  • $22.39 Wheelers price
  • You save $5.60!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781534402423
ISBN-10 153440242X
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
Publisher Simon Pulse
Imprint Simon Pulse
Publication Date 29 January 2019
Publication Country
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Reprint ed.
Edition Reprint ed.
Author(s) By Barnard, Sara
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Teenage Romance
Disability & Illness
Number of Pages 416
Dimensions Width: 142mm
Height: 208mm
Spine: 30mm
Weight 340g
Interest Age 14+ years
Reading Age 14+ years
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson. A girl who can't speak and a boy who can't hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel for readers who enjoyed John Green's Turtles All the Way Down (Booklist) from bestselling author Sara Barnard. Steffi doesn't talk, but she has so much to say. Rhys can't hear, but he can listen. Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life. The condition's name has always felt ironic to her, because she certainly does not select not to speak. In fact, she would give anything to be able to speak as easily and often as everyone around her can. She suffers from crippling anxiety, and uncontrollably, in most situations simply can't open her mouth to get out the words. Steffi's been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He's deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she's assigned to help him acclimate. To Rhys, it doesn't matter that Steffi doesn't talk. As they find ways to communicate, Steffi discovers that she does have a voice, and that she's falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it. But as she starts to overcome a lifelong challenge, she'll soon confront questions about the nature of her own identity and the very essence of what it is to know another person.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Sara Barnard lives in Brighton, England, and does all her best writing on trains. She loves books, book people, and book things. She gets her love of words from her dad, who made sure she always had books to read and introduced her to the wonders of secondhand bookshops at a young age. Sara has lived in Canada, worked in India, and once spent a night in an ice hotel. She studied American literature with creative writing at university and never stopped reading YA. Sara is inspired by what-ifs and people. She thinks sad books are good for the soul and happy books lift the heart. She hopes to write lots of books that do both.

^ top