Wheelers Books

Extraordinary Birds

Extraordinary Birds
  

For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Counting by 7s, and Fish in a Tree, a heartbreaking and hopeful debut novel about a unique young girl on a journey to find home. December believes she is a bird. The scar on her back is where her wings will sprout, and one day soon, she will... read full description below.

Available for pre-order internationally. Ships upon its international release date of 12 May 2020.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781547601431
Barcode 9781547601431
Release Date 12 May 2020 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Stark-McGinnis, Sandy
Availability Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 12 May 2020

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $17.50 Retail price
  • $14.00 Wheelers price
  • You save $3.50!
Add to Basket (Pre-order) Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781547601431
ISBN-10 1547601434
Stock Release date is 12 May 2020
Status Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 12 May 2020
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Imprint Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Release Date 12 May 2020
Publication Country
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Stark-McGinnis, Sandy
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Animal Stories
Personal Family, Relationship & Social Issues
Self-Awareness & Self-Esteem
Body & Health
Number of Pages 272
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 210mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age 8-12 years
Reading Age 8-12 years
Library of Congress Orphans, Birds, Wildlife rescue, Foster home care
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Counting by 7s, and Fish in a Tree, a heartbreaking and hopeful debut novel about a unique young girl on a journey to find home. December believes she is a bird. The scar on her back is where her wings will sprout, and one day soon, she will soar away. It will not matter that she has no permanent home. Her destiny is in the sky. But then she's placed with foster mom Eleanor, a kind woman who volunteers at an animal rescue and has secrets of her own. December begins to see that her story could end a different way - but could she ever be happy down on the ground? In her arresting debut, Sandy Stark-McGinnis offers an inspiring story about family, friendship, and finding where you belong.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review A beautiful story filled with heart. --Holly Goldberg Sloan, author of Counting by 7s and coauthor of To Night Owl from Dogfish. An amazing debut -- filled with heart, lyrical prose, and a heroine who soars! --Jewell Parker Rhodes, New York Times bestselling author of Ghost Boys A heartbreaking and hopeful story about a young girl who learns the power of kindness and the beauty of belonging. --School Library Journal, starred review With an endearing and diverse cast of characters, this is a unique debut novel with an inspiring message of hope, determination, and fortitude... Highly Recommended. --School Library Connection, starred review Poignant...this heartbreaking but ultimately redemptive middle grade novel shows the beauty of accepting one's true self and finding a place to belong. --Foreword Reviews, starred review Stark-McGinnis' prose is carefully crafted, direct, and convincing... appealingly hopeful. --Kirkus Reviews This ably constructed first-person narrative is meant to tug at the heartstrings and it surely does, encouraging readers to hope for a happy ending to this affecting story. --Booklist Stark-McGinnis adds a vivid artistic flourish with the avian theme [and] writes with smooth sympathy... This is a gracefully written modern take on the orphan story. --BCCB Stark-McGinnis nimbly constructs poignant relationships born of reciprocal patience, trust, and understanding, and December's connections with Eleanor, Cheryllynn, and the red-tailed hawk feel authentic and earned.... This sensitive debut is a sincere and hopeful exploration of family, history, and belonging from a promising new voice. --Publishers Weekly This soulful story will wing its way straight into your heart. --Jess Keating, zoologist and author of the My Life is a Zoo series Such a tender story. You'll root for this bird-loving girl to soar. --Sally Pla, award-winning author of The Someday Birds An emotional tale about finding one's home and facing one's truth...An extraordinary debut! --Ellie Terry, author of Forget Me Not

^ top

Author's Bio

Sandy Stark-McGinnis is a debut author and award-winning poet whose work has appeared in Quercus Review, In the Grove, and Penumbra. She holds an MA in Creative Writing from San Francisco State University. Sandy lives with her husband and children in California, where she works as a fifth grade teacher. www.sandystarkmcginnis.com @McGinnisSandy

^ top