Wheelers Books
The One Marvelous Thing
 

The One Marvelous Thing (Hardback)

By Ducornet, Rikki
Illustrated by Motley, T.

  • RRP: $29.99
  • $25.49
  • Save $4.50
  • Internationally sourced

'The One Marvellous Thing' is a collection of fantastical tales from the distinguished master of American fabulist fiction, Rikki Ducornet.

ISBN 9781564785190
Published 15 November 2008 by John Wiley & Sons Australia Lt
Format Hardback
Series American Literature Series
Availability
Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781564785190
ISBN-10 156478519X
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
Publisher John Wiley & Sons Australia Lt
Imprint Dalkey Archive Press
Publication Date 15 November 2008
International Publication Date 1 November 2008
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Ducornet, Rikki
Illustrated by Motley, T.
Series American Literature Series
Category Modern Fiction
Number of Pages 182
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 211mm
Spine: 13mm
Weight 454g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 813.54
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

This year Rikki Ducornet is being presented with a lifetime achievement award by the American Academy of Arts and Letters for her beloved work as a novelist and essayist, but perhaps most of all for her work as a writer of short stories. In the tradition of Italo Calvino, Donald Barthelme, and Angela Carter, Ducornet creates modernday fables filled with characters as complex and surprising as any in American short fiction. This landmark collection of new stories is generously illustrated by T. Motley, whose gritty, fantastical cartooning explores the same post-magical realism that has been the subject of Ducornet's distinguished career.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review [Ducornet] writers like a stunned time-traveler, testifying in breathless fragments to exotic ages that have gone or never were . . . . It's startling and refreshing to encounter a writer whose work insists so relentlessly upon the magic of making tales. -- Robert Chatain

^ top

Author's Bio

The author of eight novels, three collections of short fiction, a book of essays and five books of poetry, Rikki Ducornet has twice been honored by the Lannan Foundation. She has received the Bard College Arts and Letters award and, in 2008, an Academy Award in Literature. Her work is widely published abroad.

^ top