Wheelers Books

Poppy's Best Paper

Poppy's Best Paper

Poppy J. Thistleberry decides she wants to be a writer, but she is struggling to come up with material for her class writing assignments--and annoyed that her best friend Lavender keeps getting picked to read her paper.

Usually ships 4-6 weeks – This is an indent title (internationally sourced to order from a local supplier).

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781580896146
Barcode 9781580896146
Published 15 July 2015 by Charlesbridge Publishing,U.S.
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Eaddy, Susan
Illustrated by Bonnet, Rosalinde
Availability Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $31.50 Retail price
  • $25.20 Wheelers price
  • You save $6.30!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781580896146
ISBN-10 1580896146
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
Publisher Charlesbridge Publishing,U.S.
Imprint Charlesbridge Publishing,U.S.
Publication Date 15 July 2015
International Publication Date 7 July 2015
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Eaddy, Susan
Illustrated by Bonnet, Rosalinde
Category Personal Family, Relationship & Social Issues
Picture Storybooks
Number of Pages 40
Dimensions Width: 211mm
Height: 260mm
Spine: 11mm
Weight 388g
Interest Age 2-6 years
Reading Age 2-6 years
Library of Congress Animals, Friendship, Schools, Best friends, Elementary schools
NBS Text Picture Books
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 813.6
Catalogue Code 596440

Description of this Book

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams--and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Following her decision to become a writer when she grows up, Poppy takes a significant step in the right direction--after a few false starts. Poppy is blithely positive that the perfunctory career declaration she's produced for a writing assignment will be selected for a class read-aloud. She is therefore deeply miffed when her methodical friend Lavender's Why I Want to Be a Brain Surgeon is chosen instead. When, next time, Lavender's My Wish for World Peace gets the nod over Poppy's shallow, self-absorbed effort, her fury is so open that she lands a stint in the Chill-Out Chair. Third time's the charm though, as for the assigned topic How to Do Something, a repentant Poppy tallies up her own rude behavior in a paper titled How to Get in Trouble. This ingenious apology not only earns applause from the class, but mends fences with Lavender too. Poppy, a flop-eared bunny, leads a cast of small, individualized animals drawn with an expressive delicacy reminiscent of Kevin Henkes' figures. Also, along with sly notes like Poppy's bright visions of future school visits and celebrity-autograph sessions, Bonnet depicts the writer-to-be in authentic throes of composition--breaking a pencil, throwing her notebook across the room, and weeping with frustration before finally buckling down. Take note, budding authors. Poppy's paper is hard-won but worth the A it gets. -- Kirkus Reviews

^ top

Author's Bio

When her mother framed the rooster she drew in kindergarten, Susan Eaddy decided she wanted to be a verrrry famous artist when she grew up. She now sculpts clay into illustrations for magazines and children's books, including My Love for You Is the Sun (Little Bahalia) and Papa Fish's Lullaby (Cooper Square). Poppy's Best Paper is the first book she has written. When Rosalinde Bonnet was little, she couldn't decide if she wanted to be an artist, an illustrator, or a zoologist. Now she writes and illustrates children's books that often feature animals-like Poppy! She is the illustrator of The Art Collector and The Little Red Elf, and the author and illustrator of several picture books available in France, Belgium, and the United Kingdom. When Rosalinde Bonnet was little, she couldn't decide if she wanted to be an artist, an illustrator, or a zoologist. Now she writes and illustrates children's books that often feature animals. She is the illustrator of The Art Collector and The Little Red Elf, and the author and illustrator of several picture books available in France, Belgium, and the United Kingdom. www.rosalindebonnet.com

^ top