Wheelers Books
The Utopia Of Rules: On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy

The Utopia Of Rules: On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Graeber, David

  • RRP: $38.00
  • $28.50
  • Save $9.50
  • In Stock At Publisher

From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out ...forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence? To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber one of our most important and provocative thinkers traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing even romantic about bureaucracy. Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible. An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.
Read more

ISBN 9781612195186
Released NZ 13 Jun 2016
Publisher Melville House Publishing
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
85 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781612195186
Stock Available
Status In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
Publisher Melville House Publishing
Imprint Melville House Publishing
Released 13 Jun 2016
Publication Country United States United States
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
 › 2 other possible formats available
Author(s) By Graeber, David
Category Popular Culture
History Of Specific Institutions
Social & Cultural Anthropology
Political Science & Theory
Public Administration
Central Government Policies
Business Negotiation
Industrial Relations
Number of Pages 264
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 210mm
Spine: 23mm
Dewey Code 306.2
Weight 280g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Public administration - History
NBS Text Sociology & Anthropology: Professional
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP