Wheelers Books

I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter to My Daughter

I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter to My Daughter
 

Stunning. A precise puncturing of the post-racial bubble. --Nafkote Tamirat For readers of Between the World and Me and We Should All Be Feminists, an intimate and profound meditation on the politics of race today, from prizewinning novelist David Chariandy. I can glimpse, throug... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – Title is in stock with supplier internationally

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781635572872
Barcode 9781635572872
Published 5 March 2019 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Chariandy, David
Availability Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $42.50 Retail price
  • $34.00 Wheelers price
  • You save $8.50!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781635572872
ISBN-10 1635572878
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Imprint Bloomsbury Publishing
Publication Date 5 March 2019
Publication Country
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Chariandy, David
Category Biography & Autobiography
Biography & Autobiography: General
Ethnic Studies
Immigration & Emigration
Equal Opportunities
Slavery & Emancipation
Number of Pages 96
Dimensions Width: 130mm
Height: 198mm
Spine: 18mm
Weight 204g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Fathers and daughters, Authors, Canadian - 21st century, Race - Social aspects, Chariandy, David John
NBS Text Autobiography: General
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code B
Catalogue Code 981080

Description of this Book

Stunning. A precise puncturing of the post-racial bubble. --Nafkote Tamirat For readers of Between the World and Me and We Should All Be Feminists, an intimate and profound meditation on the politics of race today, from prizewinning novelist David Chariandy. I can glimpse, through the lens of my own experience, how a parent or grandparent, encouraged to remain silent and feel ashamed of themselves, may nevertheless find the strength to voice directly to a child a truer story of ancestry. When a moment of ignored-in-the-moment bigotry prompted his three-year-old daughter to ask, What happened? David Chariandy began wondering how to discuss with his children the politics of race. A decade later, in a newly heated era of both struggle and divisions, he writes a letter to his now thirteen-year-old daughter. The son of Black and South Asian migrants from Trinidad, David draws upon his personal and ancestral past, including the legacies of slavery, indenture, and immigration, as well as the experience of growing up as a visible minority in the land of his birth. In sharing with his daughter his own story, he hopes to help cultivate within her a sense of identity and responsibility that balances the painful truths of the past and present with hopeful possibilities for a better future.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Chariandy's stunning book is both a precise puncturing of the post-racial bubble, as well as an incredibly personal and powerful letter to his daughter. I wish I could have read this when I was growing up. - Nafkote Tamirat, author of THE PARKING LOT ATTENDANT A brilliant, powerful elegy . . . pulsing with rhythm, and beating with life. - Marlon James, Man Booker Prize-winning author of A BRIEF HISTORY OF SEVEN KILLINGS, on BROTHER Brother is a surprising, and really shocking novel, unafraid of exploring the overlaps in love, loss, sexuality, race, place, terror and class. It is bold. It is brilliant. It marks the beginning of an absolutely mammoth literary talent. - Kiese Laymon, author of LONG DIVISION and HEAVY A breathtaking achievement . . . A compulsive, brutal and flawless novel that is full of accomplished storytelling with not a word spare. - Afia Akbar, Observer on BROTHER An exquisite novel, crafted by a writer as talented and precise as Junot Diaz and Dinaw Mengestu. It has a beating heart and a sharp tongue. It is elegant, vital, indubitably dope--the most moving book I've read in a year. - Dina Nayeri, The Guardian on BROTHER Riveting, composed, charged with feeling, Brother surrounds us with music and aspiration, fidelity and beauty. - Madeleine Thien, Man Booker Prize-shortlisted author of DO NOT SAY WE HAVE NOTHING on BROTHER Mesmerizing. Poetic. Achingly soulful. Brother is a pitch-perfect song of masculinity and tenderness, and of the ties of family and community. - Lawrence Hill, author of THE BOOK OF NEGROES, on BROTHER Crackles with electric energy . . . An important, vital and groundbreaking book. You really need to read it. It's that good. - Medium on BROTHER Chariandy's often elegiac tone and stately but spare prose establish a compelling melancholic mood. [This] revisitation of familiar territory pays off with its singular observations and insights. A novel with sentences to savour, Brother also rewards an unhurried reader with a poetic vision that while sad is also lovely. - The Toronto Star on BROTHER What can fiction do for us at a time when we are looking to understand other people's truths? As it turns out in this book, everything . . . This book is a high-wire act--a taut, highly visual, time-stopping story . . . filled with moments of swagger and bravery, of recklessness and love that sparks against the dull pain of tragedy . . . With Brother, Chariandy has written a book worth reading through an entire library to find. - Hannah Sung, The Globe and Mail on BROTHER Brother diffracts the spare light toward feeling again, after tragedy. Chariandy deftly assembles that which has come apart in the life of a Black family; their privacies assaulted, their desires unmet. Such a timbrous novel. Such a tender work. - Dionne Brand, author of WHAT WE ALL LONG FOR on BROTHER

^ top

Author's Bio

David Chariandy grew up in Toronto and lives and teaches in Vancouver. He is the author of the novels Soucouyant, which received nominations from eleven literary awards juries, and Brother, winner of the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, and the Toronto Book Award.

^ top