Wheelers Books

A Universe of Sufficient Size

A Universe of Sufficient Size

An historical novel for readers of Heather Morris, Anna Funder and Anthony Doerr, based on the true story of five Jewish mathematicians on the eve of the Second World War.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781743535127
Barcode 9781743535127
Published 26 March 2019 by Pan Macmillan
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Sved, Miriam
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $37.99 Retail price
  • $30.39 Wheelers price
  • You save $7.60!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781743535127
ISBN-10 1743535120
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Imprint Picador Australia
Publication Date 26 March 2019
Publication Country Australia Australia
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Sved, Miriam
Category Historical Fiction
Australian
Number of Pages 320
Dimensions Width: 158mm
Height: 235mm
Spine: 24mm
Weight 403g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text Historical & Mythological Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code 968286

Description of this Book

I have wished so many times that I had acted differently. I wish that I had been more worthy of you... Eventually the war will end, and then we will find each other. Until then, remember me. Hungary, 1938. In a city park, beneath one of its bleakly looming statues, five Jewish mathematicians gather to trade proofs and whisper sedition. Expelled from the university since the state's new laws came into force, they speak uneasily of duty, of family and the slim possibility of escape. Melbourne, 2007. Illy has just buried her father, a violent, unpredictable man whose embittered nature she never understood. And now, the day after his funeral, Illy's unusually silent mother has gifted her a curious notebook. Its faded pages are a mix of mathematical figures and diary entries, all penned by a young woman seemingly blind to Europe's coming storm. A woman who sounds nothing like her mother... Based on a true story, Miriam Sved's beautifully crafted novel is a vivid recreation of Hungary before German occupation, a decades-old mystery locked in the histories of five students. A story about the selfless power of the human heart, even after years and worlds apart.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Miriam Sved is a Melbourne-based writer whose debut novel, Game Day, was published by Picador in 2014. She has been a contributing editor on the feminist anthologies Mothers and Others and Just Between Us, and the upcoming #MeToo: Stories from the Australian movement. Her novella 'All the Things I Should've Given' was a winner of Griffith Review's 2018 Novella Project, and her short fiction has been published in Best Australian Stories, Meanjin, Overland and elsewhere. A Universe of Sufficient Size is her second novel.

^ top