Wheelers Books

Snake Island

Snake Island

Vernon and Penelope never want to see their son Caleb again. Not after he bashed his wife and ended up in gaol. A lifetime of careful parental love wiped out in a moment. But when Vernon, a retired teacher, hears that Caleb is being regularly visited and savagely beaten by a loca... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781760527235
Barcode 9781760527235
Published 5 August 2019 by Allen & Unwin
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Hobson, Ben
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $32.99 Retail price
  • $24.74 Wheelers price
  • You save $8.25!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781760527235
ISBN-10 1760527238
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Allen & Unwin
Imprint Allen & Unwin
Publication Date 5 August 2019
Publication Country Australia Australia
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Hobson, Ben
Category Modern Fiction
Australian
Number of Pages 344
Dimensions Width: 153mm
Height: 234mm
Weight 450g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code 994197

Description of this Book

Vernon and Penelope never want to see their son Caleb again. Not after he bashed his wife and ended up in gaol. A lifetime of careful parental love wiped out in a moment. But when Vernon, a retired teacher, hears that Caleb is being regularly visited and savagely beaten by a local criminal as the police stand by, he knows he has to act. What has his life as a father been if he turns his back on his son in his hour of desperate need? He realises with shame that he has grievously failed Caleb. No longer. To stop the beatings, Vernon plans to approach Ernie Cahill, father of the man bashing Caleb, and head of the local drug-dealing operation. The Cahills run the town and the cops, but Vernon is determined to fix things in a civilised way, father to father. If he shows respect, he reasons, it will be reciprocated. But how wrong he is. And what hell will he bring down on his family? Reading like a morality tale Western but in a starkly beautiful Australian setting, Snake Island is a propulsive literary thriller written with great clarity and power. It will take you to the edge and keep you there long after the final page is turned. Praise for Ben's first novel, To Become a Whale: 'Hobson takes us to the depths of cruelty to show us life. A boy tries to be a man, a man tries to be a father, and both struggle to navigate what it means to be men. A great study in masculinity.' Willy Vlautin, author of Lean on Pete 'A stunning literary debut in the tradition of Favel Parrett's Past the Shallows and Tim Winton's An Open Swimmer.' Brisbane Times 'A moving debut...If you've enjoyed the work of Tim Winton, Favel Parrett and Sonya Hartnett, you'll enjoy To Become a Whale. Hobson's voice sits comfortably alongside those terrific authors.' Rohan Wilson, The Australian

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Ben Hobson lives in Brisbane and is entirely keen on his wife, Lena, and their two small boys, Charlie and Henry. He currently teaches English and Music at Bribie Island State High School. In 2014 his novella, If the Saddle Breaks My Spine, was shortlisted for the Viva La Novella prize, run by Seizureonline. To Become a Whale, his first novel, was published in 2017.

^ top